We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis Portland Street Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #49 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a reasonably priced comfortable hotel which is exactly what I needed whilst working in Manchester; very convenient for key transport links. The reception area is comfortable and as a lone traveller feels fine to sit, drink or eat. The staff are friendly and welcoming and couldn’t have been more helpful in offering me the best rates for a regular booking over the coming months. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and the bed is very comfy. Thanks very much for a good stay and I look forward to staying over the coming months.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at this hotel and when i next go up to Manchester I'll certainly be staying here again! From the moment we checked in we felt welcome and were able to check in early (always a plus!)
It's in a great central location, we went to see the Lion King in Palace Theatre and you're literally a 5 minute walk.
We went as 3 young couples (18-22) and we didn't feel that we couldn't go out and enjoy ourselves and come back a little worse for wear. (close to the printworks etc but would recommend a taxi back!)
I must agree that some of the carpets are worse for wear but it is a city centre BUGET hotel the bed was clean and comfy and the bathroom was spotless so the carpet didn't bother us at all. I also agree about the noise if your room looks over Portland street (again didn't bother us) it's loud so wouldn't recommend if you're a light sleeper or got a family but just ask for the other side of the building.
After checking out we were allowed to keep our suitcases at the hotel while we went shopping which was much appreciated! If you're ever unsure of what buses/trams to get or just want any directions the staff were more than happy to help :)

Thankyou very much to all of the staff who were of such great service we had a great weekend and hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelQueenOfWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Manchester Centre in the near future. Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed there this weekend.I cannot fault the staff. Sadly my paid booking with IBIS had vanished from the system so I was forced to pay twice for the same room. Not good.Poor customer service.

Furthermore both lifts did not work, so it was the stairs for me. Room fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mich1974186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback we will look into this. Feel free to call me on 0161 2340600 or email me on H3142-GM@ACCOR.COM to discuss this further. With kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a very welcoming greeting on arrival which is always a good start, despite arriving early our room was ready, it was very clean apart from bad stains around the light switch into the bathroom, the sink did block on just water which needed to be repaired while we were out. The bed was very comfy and despite begin new year's eve we did get a good night sleep. The only disadvantage I would say to future customers rooms like our 404, are very near the staff cleaning bays, so when they arrive in the morning to start you can here them all talking which does wake you up. Apart from that a great good hotel, and great staff

Room Tip: Make sure not the near the staff areas for morning cleaning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Manchester Centre. Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I find IBIS excellent value budget hotels. This was no exception. An easy walk to the MEN arena, clean and comfortable rooms, helpful staff and a real bargain price-wise. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

My team and I were very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

it has an excellent location very central. Rooms are clean and comfy beds.

Compact room, small but has everything you need.

Breakfast buffet is good. Staff is very courteous. Value for money! 10 mins walk from picadilly gardens. well connected. Check in and check out is fast. It has a lot of restaurants around it. Indian cuisine, chinese buffet, local takeaways, italian restaurant and oriental cusiine, bar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noopur Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us at Ibis Manchester City Centre Portland Street.
We hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting Manchester.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#37 of 120 in Manchester
2,889 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $62 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing