We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ibis manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #50 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed there this weekend.I cannot fault the staff. Sadly my paid booking with IBIS had vanished from the system so I was forced to pay twice for the same room. Not good.Poor customer service.

Furthermore both lifts did not work, so it was the stairs for me. Room fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mich1974186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback we will look into this. Feel free to call me on 0161 2340600 or email me on H3142-GM@ACCOR.COM to discuss this further. With kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a very welcoming greeting on arrival which is always a good start, despite arriving early our room was ready, it was very clean apart from bad stains around the light switch into the bathroom, the sink did block on just water which needed to be repaired while we were out. The bed was very comfy and despite begin new year's eve we did get a good night sleep. The only disadvantage I would say to future customers rooms like our 404, are very near the staff cleaning bays, so when they arrive in the morning to start you can here them all talking which does wake you up. Apart from that a great good hotel, and great staff

Room Tip: Make sure not the near the staff areas for morning cleaning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Manchester Centre. Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I find IBIS excellent value budget hotels. This was no exception. An easy walk to the MEN arena, clean and comfortable rooms, helpful staff and a real bargain price-wise. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

My team and I were very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

it has an excellent location very central. Rooms are clean and comfy beds.

Compact room, small but has everything you need.

Breakfast buffet is good. Staff is very courteous. Value for money! 10 mins walk from picadilly gardens. well connected. Check in and check out is fast. It has a lot of restaurants around it. Indian cuisine, chinese buffet, local takeaways, italian restaurant and oriental cusiine, bar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noopur Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us at Ibis Manchester City Centre Portland Street.
We hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting Manchester.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed two nights at this hotel in November 2012 with a friend. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the bathroom and shower facilities excellent.

The hotel is very centrally located, about 1 min walk from the Chinese Quarter, 2 mins from Canal Street, and about 5 mins from Piccadilly Gardens and Market Street. The nearest Metrolink stop is St Peters Square, about 3-4 mins away.

Although this was a busy city centre location, there was no noise problem in the hotel, the windows were double-glazed and kept the noise out perfectly well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd9UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback. I was really pleased to hear how convenient you found our location and how much you enjoyed the facilities in our Hotel. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy the Ibis Manchester Portland Street in the future.

Best regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed one night to attend a gig at the Academy.
Excellent value for money, good hotel in an excellent location.
Check in and check out very quick with courteous and efficient reception staff.
Clean rooms with very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback about your stay in ibis Manchester Portland Street. It is always delightful for my team and I to receive postive comments from our customers. I was really pleased to read that we have met your expectations and that you had a great night sleep in our new beds.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellant hotel. However carpet cleanliness in disabled room was very poor. Dirty black stains all over carpet. Cleanliness in rest of hotel was of a high standard.
Wet room was certainly wet after shower!! The room should have a slight decline towards plug hole.
Service at breakfast was poor-long wait for clean plates and cups.(10mins).
Have used this hotel many times in the past and this is first time cause for complaint.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazelcougars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings about your stay in ibis Manchester Portland Street.

I would like to confirm that we have started a carpet refurbishment for most of our rooms. I have also taken note of your other comments and we are taking the appropriate actions in order to avoid any reocurrences.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#28 of 121 in Manchester
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $61 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing