We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and bright”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #46 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    662
    326
    113
    63
See reviews for
150
526
192
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
192 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The advantage being,its dog-friendly.For a fee your dog can be with you.Which suited my needs.Its central,clean rooms staff that dont bite,always a plus.Its a nice hotel that delivers.Does what it says on the label.No frills,clean rooms,excellent disabled access shower room upon request.breakfast was good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for the great feedback. We are always happy to look after families and sweet little dogs.

Looking forward to welcome you back in Manchester.

Kind Regards
Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked here for a one night stay as it was the cheapest on Laterooms which didn't have 80% of TA reviews declaring it a hovel. We booked in house rather than online as we happened to be in town. The reception is a bit misleading, it looks incredibly modern and even a little posh - until you get upstairs. The corridors look and smell like hospital ones, we were scared what the room was going to look like.

Fortunately it was good. Exactly what you want in an over night stay, very clean and shower roomy. The bed was good sized - I think it was a King rather than a Double which is a plus and it was very comfy. Location is in the centre of everything, you couldn't get a better base for a city break.

Bad points: Took ages to get heavy bags in the lift on check out as they were being used by housekeeping staff, think they need a service lift. When we stopped on one floor saw two housekeepers (they wanted to get in the lift but there was no room) one seemed very upset/stressed telling the other she had 18 departures to do to day. Management if you're reading, that is far too much!! I used to do hotel housekeeping a few years ago and know that 18 rooms is too much to handle. The quality of the cleaning is going to suffer if you over work and rush your staff like this, which in turn is going to upset customers.

On check out we gave the receptionist our room keys back. She seemed surprised and commented that most people don't give them back. WHY? Try asking for them, no one ever asked for ours. Don't know why you'd keep wasting money like that buying new keycards when you an just reuse old ones. How stupid. Front desk staff could be more friendly/welcoming too. They all seemed pretty cold and miserable except one young man who greeted us on arriving back at the hotel after a day out which was nice and made the stay a bit more personal.

Overall I rated very good for the location, price of the room (£55), size of the room and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel not facing Portland St as the street noise is incredibly lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayJayBee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great location, bright, clean and pleasant hotel, polite staff and reasonable breakfast for the price. Not particularly quiet but what can you expect in city centre location? Car parking very close with discount if you ask at reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give the hotel your valuable feedback and we are looking forward to have the pleasure of your company at Ibis Manchester again very soon.

Kind Regards
Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Very good location as it is in the centre of Manchester. I liked the modern reception/breakfast area.The room
was really quiet and clean with all the necessary facilities. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback.

We are all working very hard to provide our guest with 1st class service and it is very rewarding and motivational when we learn that our efforts have been appreciated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in Ibis Manchester in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

For many years I have stayed at the Ibis (mainly Manchester) every 8 weeks, last visit was this Sunday/Monday.
Firstly the new beds are brilliant...however the new style breakfast is superb, with much more choice of hot food.......please continue!!!!
Also I must mention how helpful and friendly the staff are on all my visits...thank you x x

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlookl the main road and can be noisy at night...ask for a back f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. I am always pleased to hear that we have been able to meet or exceed our guest’s expectations when they have been to stay time and time again. We work hard to try and remain consistent with our high standards so I am delighted to read your review. Also thank you very much for your feedback with regards to the great service that you experienced from our team they are extremely delighted with your feedback. I hope we remain your first choice in Manchester and will look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#42 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Property: Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing