We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap stay in centre of Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #47 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Cowbridge
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good cheap stay in centre of Manchester”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is situated on a long street in the centre of town in which there are a number of similar chain hotels. The Ibis is spotlessly clean and although the room was a tad small it had everything I needed for a one night stay. The space pod bathroom was fun, and the shower terrific. The staff were typically friendly, and the price was cheap for the room only. Breakfast was OK the next morning but of course cost extra, and maybe £7.50 was a bit pricey. Car parking was extra too (£6.50 overnight) and is accessed around the back of the hotel via a small side street. Very easily booked on Hotels.com.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    675
    333
    116
    65
See reviews for
152
537
199
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with my boyfriend.

We chose this place largely due to its location, close to great places to eat, drink and wander round.

Quick no-fuss check in, friendly reception staff, modern looking foyer but once you get up to the 4th floor the place looks a bit tired. But this is a budget hotel, so you're paying for the location.

Having said that the room looked modern as well and was clean and comfortable, with all the basic essentials, including a hair dryer, extra pillows and tea and coffee making facilities, as well as hangers and a wardrobe. You will probably need the air-con on, but we hated the fan noise so slept without it which was a bit stuffy.

Very good shower.

Slightly annoying bathroom fan-noise too which we ended up blocking with toilet paper so no problem after that.

Didn't have breakfast here as it wasn't included and there are so many good places to eat near-by, but their times were generous, going from 6.30am to midday.

Check-out is nice and late at midday so there's no rush in the morning.

Would stay here again for the location

Room Tip: Rooms facing Portland Street will be pretty noisy with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Manchester Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here after the Stone Roses gig in Heaton Park, I thought my partner was joking when I saw the rooms, smaller than single beds, very basic, terrible bathroom and facilities. Cheap and not very cheerful! On the plus side, the bar stayed open quite late :-)

Room Tip: Stay in a Permier Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmajaneMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ibis Manchester City Centre, but I was very disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies and we are looking forward to wow you at your next visit.

Kind regards,
Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked the hotel through their website and paid GBP50 for one night stay (without breakfast) which was a good deal. The check-in process was easy and fast. The room is quite spacious. It comes with a closet, desk, bedside table, air cond, and coffee & tea facility. Room looked a bit tired/old however no sign or any dirt spots on the carpet/elsewhere. Bed sheet and towels looked clean and smelled good. The bathroom was spacious and clean. They provided bath gel & shampoo. The shower water pressure was good.

The location of the hotel is very convenient as it is located on Portland Street. We took a free bus from the Manchester Piccadilly and stopped right across the street from the hotel. From here we walked to Piccadilly Gardens where most of the busses and trams stops, about 5-10minutes away from the hotel. You can find few cafes and restaurants nearby. You can reach Chinatown about 5 minutes walk. Overall, was happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cammal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Manchester Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Shores, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Ibis is centrally located and easily walkable to most places in central Manchester. We had a room on the first floor facing the back. The room was adequate for a one night stay. The bathroom reminded me of something you might see on a ship, a little modular affair. Shower stall was great with instant hot water. The toilet needed a few flushes to make it work. The bed was too hard for me and a bit on the narrow side, but OK for one night.
The whole place was clean. The staff very efficient and professional.
The lobby is large and contains a bar and breakfast area.

Room Tip: The hotel faces a very bust street if you want quiet ask for a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,804 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 118 in Manchester
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Property: Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing