We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Ranked #54 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wrexham, North Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

If you are looking for somewhere to stay while you are in Manchester for a gig at the Apollo or the MEN or just there for a night out, this hotel is perfect!

My boyfriend and I have stayed here loads of time as we get to a few gigs each year in Manchester and it is always excellent.

The room rate is great value for a city centre and the internet booking system is great. There is a multi story car park opposite and offers great value for overnight parking and seems to be fully secure (we've certainly had no problems, touch wood!).

The bathrooms are ace - very Dr Who (if you stop there you'll know what I mean!!!).

I'd def recommend this hotel - in fact we've stayed at a few Ibis' and all have been great! Cheers.

  • Liked — Cheap room rates, for a lovely, clean hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earlp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    501
    323
    107
    54
See reviews for
97
392
168
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

This hotel is a standard Ibis hotel - basic but fine.

I stayed i this hotel by accident, having originally intended to stay in the other Manchester Ibis - the Ibis website doesn't make a very clear distinction between the two. As it turned out, this was ok - I was 5 minutes further from my conference venue, but 5 minutes closer to the train station.

The staff were all fine - not exactly super-friendly, but efficient enough. The room was sparse, but had everything I needed in it, although more TV channels would've been a bonus. Some may find the beds a little hard. The room was quiet and a fine temperature, and the bathroom and shower good. Cleaning could be a little better though.

I ate in the hotel cafe / restaurant, and the food was better than I expected, although it's basically just decent pub-type food. The cafe is nice enough though, and is used for the continental style breakfast, which is limited but fine.

Overall, the hotel was acceptable- it was exactly what you'd expect for the price.

  • Liked — Everything was just as expected
  • Disliked — Staff could be cheerier
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Penguing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

The Ibis Charles Street/ Princess Street is very much in the standard Ibis mould, with all the usual facilities and quality of room. It is a 5 minute walk from Oxford Road station and approx 10 mins from Piccadilly Plaza and central Manchester pubs and restaurants.
The only problem with the location is that you have the railway line on one side of the hotel and the Mancunian Way motorway a few hundred yards away on the other side, so if you are a light sleeper bring your earplugs!
The breakfast was average - bread, cheese, cereals, yogurt - but least it wasn't too expensive. However, there are plenty of cafes and food options nearby so I would recommend getting brekkie elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location, good value for money
  • Disliked — Can be noisy - either road or rail!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tsaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington (uk)
Level Contributor
173 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

I stayed at the IBIS for one night ahead of an exam at Manchester University. I was aware it was a budget hotel so prepared for the worst although it wasn’t quite that bad.

The first issue is that the hotel does not have parking; a 24 hour multi storey car park is just across the road at a charge of £10 per day. One word of warning, you can only pay cash here an issue which I found at the barrier. This policy still amazes me in what is supposed to be a leading city in the 21st century!

The other point to make here is that the hotel is an awful area, not a place I would recommend tourists to stay!

When I arrived at the hotel as welcomed by a pleasant member of staff although there was apparently no record of my booking. This sparked a frantic search through files and ten minutes my booking paper appeared deep at the bottom of the filing cabinet.

I got the lift up to my room and was amused to see a sign saying “you will never stay anywhere else”. I think this is a little bit of a bold statement!

The room itself was OK although a bit tatty and worn. The bathroom can only be described as a half sized portacabin. It was a separate prefabricated room. No soap was provided or any of the other little hotel extras. Now at this point people may say it’s a budget hotel. Well that’s fine however £57 per night plus £10 per night for parking plus £6 for breakfast makes that £73 per not such a bargain after all!

The bar area was quite smart and I had a bar meal which was quite good value for a hotel.

The bed was very hard as some other people pointed out in the reviews.

Overall this hotel is OK for one night but I would like this on a longer term basis.

  • Liked — The reasonably priced resteraunt
  • Disliked — The surrounding area
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank graemeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

Very convenient for Piccadilly rail station- about 5 minutes walk. However it's not a fantastic walk- the area looks a bit run down. When asking for directions, some people will know it as the Charles Street Ibis, some as the Princess Street Ibis.

The room was okay, standard Ibis decor. There was no bath though, only a shower and the TV was quite old (the TV clock didn't work either so no alarm). There weren't any towels in my room, I had to go enquire at reception (someone must have forgotten them) and the soap is from a dispenser on the wall like in public toilets. The bar / restaurant is quite small and the decor I found a bit garish- the key picture that would have made it coherent (a Liza Minelli Cabaret poster) was hidden by a pot plant so it all just looked a bit gaudy. It was also quite noisy outside- I stayed on a Wednesday night; I dread to think what it's like on a weekend.

That said, it was clean and the staff were very helpful. I enjoyed the bar food (chicken kashmir very pleasant). It was okay, but I've stayed at nicer Ibises.

  • Liked — Attentive staff and nice food
  • Disliked — I was feeling ill, so maybe I was just in a bad mood! But even the ironing room seemed a bit shabby...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phantomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights in the IBIS in March 2007. The Staff are friendly and helpful when you are unsure of your way around. The room is small but functional and most importantly CLEAN! Its in a great little location just a few minutes walk from the city centre and a £10 taxi ride from the Lowry Centre/Theatre so all amenities in reach. the Pub across the road is a student bar so its cheap and full of girls and boys trying their first beer way from mum and Dad's prying eyes. Would recommend the Irish Bar further up the hill if you fancy a beer before dinner.

1 Gripe - The Bed. Rock hard and has no give in it when you lay on it. Perhaps a more comfortable replacement could be found.......like a bed of nails? :-)

All in all i'd give this 6 out of ten as the bed is not a worry after
a sampling a few of the local brews :-)

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — The Bed was like a stone
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dannyw1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2007

The Ibis Manchester is typical of the Ibis chain; cheap and cheerful accommodation. If you are looking for a relatively clean hotel room for a budget price in city centre Manchester, you can't go far wrong here.

The hotel is conveniently situated just off the Mancunian Way motorway and a 5 minute walk from Manchester Piccadilly train station.

The hotel follows the usual Ibis format; The rooms are compact and have a tardis like shower room. The shower itself was pretty good and I found the room to be clean.

The bed was a mattress on top of a chipboard base. OK for a night or two, but I would expect it to be a struggle over a week long stay.

Breakfast is continental buffet only and is charged at an extra £5.25 per person. Worth it if you just want the convenience and like the idea of 'all you can eat'. There was a place the other side of the car park that did a cooked breakfast for £3. Also Starbucks, Spar and a Sainsbury's Local are all a 2 minute walk away!

Staff were friendly and helpful when I asked for information.

Parking is in the 24hr multi-storey across the road and charges only £2 per day at weekends (£10 during the week).

Overall, pretty good for the money given the location; 5 minutes to the main shopping centres, 2 minutes to the Palace Theatre and only a minute walk to Canal Street.

  • Liked — City Centre Location
  • Disliked — That bed
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScratchyBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Property: ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Address: Charles Street | Princess Street, Manchester M1 7DG, England (Formerly Ibis Manchester Charles Street Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel is located on the corner of Princess St and Charles St, 5 minute walk from the heart of Manchester City Centre. Located next to the Manchester Conference Centre, the BBC & the Universities, the hotel is an excellent base whether visiting Manchester on business or for leisure. The Nightpsots of Canal St and bustling China Town are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Manchester
Hotel Ibis Manchester
Ibis Manchester
Manchester Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing