We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad. Not amazing either.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Ranked #54 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Devon, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not bad. Not amazing either.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

An average, acceptable budget hotel, akin to most of its chain/Travelodge/Premier Inn etc. I booked here quite late and so didn't get a very competitive price, but that's my own fault and it seems that if you plan in advance you can get some reasonable deals.

The hotel is alright. It was superbly clean although not brilliantly looked after - crayon and other such marks around the place. It is by a busy railway line and near to a road frequented by blue-lighting ambulances but I had a reasonable night and can't complain about the comfort.

The location is quite good; within walking distance of plenty of amenities and the city centre. The public car park opposite is very reasonably priced and locals seem to trust it.

Overall there wasn't really anything I would want to complain about, but nothing that really impressed me either. In hindsight I'd probably pay a little more for one of the many 4 star hotels in the area, or much less on an equal standard Travelodge/Premier Inn type of accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent visit. We appreciate all the feedback given and will use this to improve the services and welcome offered by our team.

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    501
    323
    107
    54
See reviews for
97
392
168
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Wish i could say the same for the Ibis, booked as part of a package to see take that, the hotel did its job as somewhere to sleep but was definitely a budget hotel with the smell of sewers included in the price. I would not stop hear again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowynorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Spent one night in this hotel early June 2011, was absolutely satisfied with the clean room and the very good service. The hotel is located close to both the city center and the university area. I took a taxi to move around in the city, but basically everything is within walking distance. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our Hotel, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Manchester. I do hope you chose to stay with us again, next time you visit the City.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alrewas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

I stayed in the IBIS Charles Street (Manchester) for a 2nd occasion on business.

My room (#616) had a rather uninspiring view but it did have a comfortable bed. And although basic, the room was adequate for my purposes during the week:

There is a kettle in the room with a supply of coffee, tea bags, milk and sugar.

An ironing room is available on the 2nd floor.

The in-room TV provides the 5 terrestrial channels plus BBC News 24 and Sky 1, but there is a pay-to-view movie option.

Internet (WiFi) is available in the room, but there is a scaled-fee system based on how long you want access (there is a desktop in the lobby area which I believe is free to access).

The hotel is starting to get that ‘tired look’ and could do with a lick of paint – especially room 616, which is showing signs of wear, tear and grubbiness.

There is a bar located on the ground floor which serves a very limited selection of food and a small selection of drinks. Snacks are available 24/7 from the reception. But there are plenty of places to eat and drink on the doorstep – "Joshua Brooks" is a pub located diagonally opposite the hotel which is good, and there are also a number of places on the main Oxford Road – a 2-3 minute walk away.

I felt that my welcome to the hotel on this stay was poor, and the staff generally seemed rather 'lack-lustre' throughout the week, and although not a major criticism, my first stay here (about 12 months prior) previously left me with a better impression of the staff.

Parking for the hotel is convenient – the closest is a NCP opposite. The hotel itself is in a good, central location for the city, with everything within a 5-10 minute walk. There is also a local supermarket nearby if you need any 'basics'.

To summarise, an okay hotel and I would probably stay here again, although there are better options such as the “Holiday Inn Express” (on Oxford Road and recently renovated) or the “Roomzzz Aparthotel” (which is also more expensive but a great place to stay if on business in Manchester for a few nights).

Room Tip: Get a room on one of the higher floors (quieter!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gravimetrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all constructive feedback as it allows us to enhance our service's and make our guests stay more enjoyable.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

No complaints here.

Friendly staff, clean bathroom, nice room, good location right near Oxford Road station. Short walk from the Apollo which is why we chose it.

You get what you pay for (no shampoo/conditioner/hair dryer).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PitselehPitseleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. I am so glad that you found the hotel's location ideal for your visit to Manchester, and we hope that you stay with us again soon.

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Property: ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Address: Charles Street | Princess Street, Manchester M1 7DG, England (Formerly Ibis Manchester Charles Street Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel is located on the corner of Princess St and Charles St, 5 minute walk from the heart of Manchester City Centre. Located next to the Manchester Conference Centre, the BBC & the Universities, the hotel is an excellent base whether visiting Manchester on business or for leisure. The Nightpsots of Canal St and bustling China Town are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Manchester
Hotel Ibis Manchester
Ibis Manchester
Manchester Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing