We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rozafa

Rozafa
Ranked #126 of 2,242 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We ate here on a Thursday night. Having always holidayed in various parts of Greece over the last 10 years, this was the first year that we didn't, so we was pining for some nice greek food. We hadn't booked but that wasn't a problem. We had the fish mezze for 2, which was fresh and plenty for 2 people. The kleftiko just fell off the bone and was as good if not better than any I've tasted all over Greece. All mains are served with a choice of potatoes, rice, chips, salad or pourgouri (bulgar wheat). The house red was very nice. There was also live greek music provided and one of the chefs from the kitchen came out to do a greek dance with one of the waiters. Very atmospheric and by 9pm the restaurant was nearly full. Overall very pleasantly surprised with the quality of food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    132
    33
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went to the Rozafa last night, and has a thoroughly enjoyable night. We had a seafood Meze, which was just over £20. It came as three courses. The first was the usual dips houmus etc, which were good quality, and plentyful. The second course was a mixture of calimari, whitebait, baby octopus, etc. This was just delicious. The calimari standing out, cooked just right. The main was swordfish. I have to say when this arrived it was plain. The presentation was ordinary, and didn't really have any imagination. This may well have been how the chef intended this dish to look, because when we tasted it, it was just fantastic. All, in all the food was excellent. The service was just right. We were give enough time to check the menu, and the food arrived at the right intervals. There was enough time to enjoy each course, without feeling rushed. We stayed for a few drinks after the food, and considering the restaurant in right in the iddle of Manchester, the staff were in no particular rush to get us to leave. All this, and live greek music, with the waiters daning left a good impression with me. Once we'd finished the food they just left us alone unless we ordered drinks. All in all a good night, and I would go back again no problem.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thanks for the recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We're visiting Manchester for my birthday and this restaurant has been recommended to us by a Greek friend who is a regular there. We decided to eat early and booked our table in advance-by 7.30,the place was packed upstairs. The service was great and our food served quickly. I tried the house special Rosto-slow roasted lamb shoulder that just fell off the bone. Towards the end of the meal,a live Greek band started to play and the whole place got involved! Great place,great service,great staff!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria18Leek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Ate here for lunch on a sunny Monday. The tables outside are a great addition and we choose to dine outside. The service was friendly and polite and knowledagble about the menu. We opted for one of the Meze Banquets and a banquet it was! A great selection of dishes to try (fantastic dips) and we didn't feel rushed at all. We couldn't even contemplate the 3rd "course" so the chef kindly wrapped this up for us to take away. The main reason I have not given this an all round excellent rating is that some of the dishes were a little too oily for our taste, maybe slightly on the expensive side and would have liked more bread with the dips.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had the 2 courses for £12.50 offer last night and were very impressed by the quality of the food and the service we received.

The offer is a little limited in terms of choice but we soon found dishes that we both liked.

The food portions were generous and delicious and the waiter was attentive but not pushy.

Great value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheHooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rozafa also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Rozafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing