We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really educational”

Manchester Jewish Museum
Ranked #52 of 177 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum includes objects, documents, photographs and oral histories charting the stories and experiences of Manchester’s Jewish community, including their experiences during the Holocaust.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Really educational”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really recommend a visit. Interesting to see how the culture has helped the growth of Mcr. Loved the architecture and the building itself. Is a must see for all school children........

Helpful?
1 Thank NONNY61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    46
    7
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, little nugget of Jewish religeon/history”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I really enjoyed our class RE trip to the Museum. Nice chap gave a informative talk on the history of Juwdaism which I loved, but seemed a tad lengthy for the children and some other members of staff. Lots of little hands on artifacts, information and some lovely displays in a small building. Great for RE topics for school and if you're a bit of an RE/history geek (like me) bit borning if you're not. I'd go again.

Helpful?
2 Thank DianeMellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have visited this 'little gem of a museum' ,housed in ,what was one of Manchester's original Synagogue's , several times over the past few years . The permanent exhibits are very interesting and the Museum often mounts special exhibitions reflecting the life of the Manchester Jewish community past & present . The museum hosts school parties on a regular basis and providing lots for children to participate in . The staff and volunteers are welcoming , enthusiastic & and very knowledgable . I'd recommend it to anyone wishing to gain insight into Judaism .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TripperCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“co-operation”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Welcomes everyone. Has knowledgeable guides to explain items on display to non Jewish visitors. Very educational and many schools of all denonimations visit. Displays vary, about local people and locations/entertainment by singers and musical groups.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Unbelievable history”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I liked the way the history of the jewish people in Manchester was explained so simply. I had relatives from New Zealand visiting and they wanted to see it. They were amazed and it was very informative for us all. I am ashamed to say I have passed it several times in the past and never thought to enter. I will definitely be going again when I have more time

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyq1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manchester Jewish Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Manchester Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing