We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful architecture”

Manchester Town Hall
Ranked #10 of 177 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This neo-Gothic masterpiece was designed by Alfred Waterhouse and completed in 1887. At the front main entrance sits a statue of the Roman Governor, Agricola, founder of the original fort of Mamuciam, from which the city began. The building dominates Albert Square.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We attended a private function here and had drinks in a beautiful large room at the front of the building over looking the square and dinner in the hall. Both rooms were spectacular as is the whole building.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shadowfaxlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    447
    103
    19
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too good to be the Town Hall”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Town Hall? Seriously? Such an impressive building, you can think that is the Cathedral, or a museum, and is the Town Hall? To good to be just a political place...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zélia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My wedding day!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had are wedding ceremony at the Town hall and it was nothing but beautiful!
The staff were friendly, helpful and everything ran as smoothly as it could of. The room we got married in was stunning and the perfect place to have pictures taken I was so glad we choice this as the placed to be married! I couldn't recommend enough! Thank you to all the staff there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhoughton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The day that we went to the town hall, was the day that it was closed part from the tea rooms, so the the only thing we saw was the hall way on the ground floor, shame.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“period charm”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a lovely building with real period charm and appeal, it is very historic and worth viewing inside. Parking close by of course is not easy at all but if your in the area do go and see the building.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manchester Town Hall also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Manchester Town Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing