We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably one of the best restaurants in Manchester City Centre right now”
Review of Australasia

Australasia
Ranked #40 of 2,298 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $97
Cuisines: Asian, European, Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Australian cuisine combines Pacific Rim flavours underpinned by European cooking tradition, a blend of Indonesian, Southeast Asian influences and Australia's strong ties with Japan also help determine the taste and style.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best restaurants in Manchester City Centre right now”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Service and food are impeccable.
The setting is perfect for business or pleasure.
Need to book though

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,101
    800
    260
    133
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although it initially felt a bit Footballers Wives, the food and service were excellent. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best birthday treat!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My sister took me here for my birthday and it was fantastic. Not only is the food great but you get a great experience too. Different foods, staff were very helpful and it was all delicious. A nice touch was the free champers for my bday! Excellent for a special occasion or a treat.

Helpful?
Thank feistylittleitalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing treat”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I was taken here as a birthday treat, it delivered on every level!
The cocktails were fab, the wine simply delicious. The service was friendly, attentive and not at all condescending which we were concerned about as we were unfamiliar with the menu.
But, the food was out of the world! We have both eaten in some great restaurants before and this food equalled if not exceeded some.
The black cod is well worth every penny, beautifully cooked and presented. The chocolate soufflé with sea salt and raspberry was perfect (although large enough to share)
Our only complaint was, they encourage you to eat like a local and share lots of little plates which is great, although they don't do the plates to share, for example the sushi sharing plater only has one of everything so we weren't able to share the same experience, some of the other dishes also did not lean themselves to sharing :-(
Will definitely return, everyone should experience this little gem in Manchester!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluepickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic lunch!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Based on good TA reviews, booked lunch for small family after trip to nearby MOSI museum. I had high expectations of the food, my only concern was that as we had 2 kids under 10 (who are well used to dining out), we might not be comfortable in a trendy, chic higher-end restaurant. We should not of worried. From arrival we were made most welcome, and the staff went out of their way to make us and the kids feel at home. The hostess was charming, and our waitress was patient, informative, friendly and gave us loads of help in picking our way through what is quite a large menu.
We opted to dine off the smaller lunch menu, ordering 8 tasting plates. Our highlights were the fish curry & the interestingly titled Collingwood dinkies, which were pork, chicken & fish pies. Yummy! We were slightly disapointed with the chicken satay, which we found to be a little dry, and the use of thigh meat not to our tastes. Being a family lunch, I regretted not to be able to peruse what I'm sure is an extensive wine list presented on I-pad, but again our waitress personally recommended the cucumber infused water, which was refreshing and complimented the Asian flavours in the dishes wonderfully.
The dramatic entrance to the restaurant via the miniature "louvre-esque" pyramid sets the theme to a superbly designed and finished space. There is a spacious bar, and large dining area, with comfortable booth seats, and a cleverly designed open kitchen with perspex glass for the comfort of both diners and staff. Clearly well designed and furnished with a generous budget, the interior is modern, glamorous and fun.
We hugely enjoyed the couple of hours, and although not cheap, it represents good value for money if you are looking for something a little bit special. Finally, praise and thanks again to our waitress who was lovely!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irish_bear98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australasia also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Australasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing