We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and fab food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Australasia

Australasia
Ranked #39 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $94
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, European, Asian, Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Modern Australian cuisine combines Pacific Rim flavours underpinned by European cooking tradition, a blend of Indonesian, Southeast Asian influences and Australia's strong ties with Japan also help determine the taste and style.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great place and fab food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were recommended to try this place by a number of friends. It did not disappoint!! The food and the service was great!! The portions were small so we shared 3 sushi/ tempura dishes and then had a traditional main course each! I would definitely return. We entered via the bar upstairs . The only negatives was that the bar staff were a bit offhand. We both commented on this,however the restaurant staff were very courteous !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annie792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,953
    751
    246
    125
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wernberg, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will try again ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere and interior but service lacking for what it promises. Average experience but would try again to see if that waiter just had a bad day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramborai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Asian high tea at Grand Pacific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Went to Grand Pacific on 10 July for my daughters birthday. We ordered the Asian High Tea and because the weather was good we sat outside. It is served in two waves, first wave was a 3 tiered stand of sushi and sashimi served with a glass of Australian champagne, the way it was served was spectacular and was greeted by envious glances by the other people in the restaurant. The second wave was again served on the same stand and was a delicious array of individual desserts which was amazing, this was served with a tea infusion of our choice. As previous people have said the service was great and I quite like the fact that the waiters describe the drinks and the food. I have eaten in Australasia before and can honestly say that Living Ventures have done it again can't recommend it highly enough. Wii definately go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LezzaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spot On!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great meal, try the tapas option to give you a chance to sample everything. Price was a little high by comparison to other restaurants at this standard but food is beautifully presented.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gravy-is-king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Grand Pacific- Amazing food, excellent wine - let down by service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

It's a gorgeous venue, extremely stylish yet very comfortable. The menu was extensive and interesting and the food we ordered was ABSOLUTLY delicious! Modest wine list, but great quality choices and fab cocktails as you would expect. Our party of four had a lovely leisurely afternoon which would have been perfect had the service been better. It started well, nice and attentive but rapidly went down hill. Drinks took an age to arrive ( it wasn't busy and there were lots of staff on) you couldn't get a staff members attention to order more drinks no matter how hard you tried. The 'meet and greet' lady looked very lovely wafting up and down the entrance area but served no purpose what so ever and didn't once ask us how everything was. We did raise the service issue with her as we left but was told that the manager was doing something downstairs and wouldn't want to talk to us, so she would mention our concerns in passing. No 'I'm sorry you were dissapointed etc' which I thought was rather poor. Hope we had just caught them on a bad day as the food was definitely worth going back for!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australasia also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Australasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing