We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early Doors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Australasia

Australasia
Ranked #41 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $96
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, European, Asian, Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Modern Australian cuisine combines Pacific Rim flavours underpinned by European cooking tradition, a blend of Indonesian, Southeast Asian influences and Australia's strong ties with Japan also help determine the taste and style.
Wirral
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Early Doors!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent a late afternoon underground in Australasia a couple of weekends ago. We had a first class meal in excellent surroundings however it must be said that it was the service that was exceptional. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the fod and the drinks and even advised us of the cost of a bottle of champagne we ordered spontaneously.
Only downside was on leaving when we realised that it was only nine o'clock!
A return is on the cards!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevedotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,990
    762
    251
    129
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

There's not one thing about this visit that wasn't perfect.

Even the booking experience was easy as pleasurable!


You must visit here for a taste of pure indulgence!








  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripreview84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a wonderful Sunday lunch with our two children. The staff were very attentive and the food was amazing. Great atmosphere, great food and great prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“best food, best service, excellent managment”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was there with my wife. I havent seen any place better than them. Food was great, service was perfect. Atmosphere i have nothing to say excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit but needs to lose the "attitude"”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have visited this restaurant on numerous occasions usually for a work lunch but chose on this occasion to visit with my wife for a birthday meal at lunchtime as she had never tried it. We started in the Bar with a cocktail (wife) and New Zealand Beer (me) before being shown to our table. Despite (I later found out) a booth having been reserved for us we were shown to one of the ordinary tables for 2 which are cramped and give little or no privacy. This error was only spotted halfway through the meal when one of the front of house staff came over and apologised and asked if we would like to move (it was too late).
The food, wine and waiting staff as usual were faultless although the food is very expensive. It will be interesting to see if these prices could be maintained if it faced real competition in the manchester restaurant market.
My only real gripe is the attitude of the front of house staff who, whilst perfectly pleasant, do not give off a warm and welcoming reception and adopt the approach which has been the downfall of too many a restaurant namely all our customers are lucky to eat here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megjhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australasia also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Australasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing