We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best restaurant in Manchester!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Australasia

Australasia
Ranked #41 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $96
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, European, Asian, Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Modern Australian cuisine combines Pacific Rim flavours underpinned by European cooking tradition, a blend of Indonesian, Southeast Asian influences and Australia's strong ties with Japan also help determine the taste and style.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“best restaurant in Manchester!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our favourite restaurant in Manchester! fantastic food, drink and atmosphere....what more do you want? Cant wait for our next visit in June.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank shoes_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,990
    762
    251
    129
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
frodsham
2 reviews
“cool place”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I like this place, a bit different, design is great. Funny entrance - you wouldn't believe where you are going and what's below! Just really cool, with good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A* service and food”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went to Australasia following a recommendation. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and shown to our table. The waiter was very knowledgable and helped with food and drink recommendations. The food was perfect and just how we liked it, with everything fantastically presented. The atmosphere was good with great surroundings and a real buzz. Overall we loved it ere and will definitely return...try it, you'll like it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Manchester's front runner......”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Although it had been almost 6 months since my last visit, i'm pleased to report Australasia has lost none of it's magic..... The menu had changed slightly but the concept and style remained consistant with my previous visits..... For starters we opted for tuna sashimi, tempura vegetables and spicy chicken skewers......mains were fillet steak and corn fed chicken, with mango soufflé and lemon creme brûlée to close the show.....the food was incredible, the service was excellent, and for me this place remains the top restaurant in town.......

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GonzalesManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, great cocktails”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Australasia and would visit again but next time we would order more dishes than advised. We ordered 4 dishes per person plus 2 sides and we were left feeling a little hungry. I suppose if you are going to eat dessert that would've been just enough but we aren't really dessert people. The edamame beans were delicious and the tuna sashimi was really good. The best and most memorable thing we ate was the pork belly with scallops. We had a different cocktail each time and managed to sample quite a few! My husband loved the 'Smokey old fashioned'. The service was great and our waiter was very helpful and looked after us well. Our bill for 2 was around £135, 50% on food and 50% on drinks. Definitely worth a try if you want to try something a bit different.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chreoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australasia also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Australasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing