We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of style and glamour in Manchester with great service and food but at a price.”
Review of Australasia

Australasia
Ranked #40 of 2,298 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $97
Cuisines: Asian, European, Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Australian cuisine combines Pacific Rim flavours underpinned by European cooking tradition, a blend of Indonesian, Southeast Asian influences and Australia's strong ties with Japan also help determine the taste and style.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A touch of style and glamour in Manchester with great service and food but at a price.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We wanted to go somewhere special for our wedding anniversary but could not think of anywhere in Manchester city centre open between Christmas and New Year to fit the bill. We had seen Australasia and decided to try it. The decor is attractive and modern but they need to get rid of the silly trees spotted around the room- it really would look better without them. As they say less is more.
We were seated in a booth which was nice as you could still see out into the main room and felt special at the same time. The waiting staff try very hard some more than others and are happy to tell you about the food. They had non alcoholic cocktails which were good. We had the tempura to start which comes in a flower pot type container with a little salad weighted down by dry rice which I inadvertently munched until I realised what it was!
The sushi was good and also the fish which we had for the main course.
They try to sell the soufflé as something very special which yes I agree takes time and looks good. However hot eggy soufflé with a mango sauce was a bit sickly and not that special in terms of taste. I expect something more intricate than that at that price.
Overall we would go again. it is pricey but it is good to know that there is somewhere in Manchester of this standard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,101
    800
    260
    133
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best meal we have ever had.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We visited the Australasia on 5th January 2013. I have to say this was the best meal / experience we have ever had.

We went for the Tapas option having some sushi and grill options. 4 + 1 side was a perfect amount + pud !!!! (Chocolate soufflé was AMAZING). The server looked after us and explain every dish we were having with expertise.

I highly recommend this restaurant to everyone, just look out for the entrance in the glass triangle then go "Down Under"

10 out of 10

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sjf19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Expensive, but lovely”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Exactly what I expected. Very cool, lots of stylish touches and really lovely food. The service in the restaurant was attentive and very friendly. I would recommend going for the 'small plates' option. We ordered 6 dishes between 2 and they were all lovely. They don't bring all the dishes at the same time, so it makes for a relaxed, leisurely meal. I would recommend the sushi and the mango soufflé.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shopkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, and Incredible Food for a Birthday”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

So been looking forward to coming to Australasia for a long time since its been open in Manchester just have never been able to get a table. Yesterday was my birthday i went with two friends. We are big foodies, and have pretty much been to every restaurant in Manchester. After hearing great reviews from here and friends and family i had a very enjoyable time all round.

There are 2 options of eating the standard a la carte or the option where you can pick and choose from the menu. The waitress was very helpful and chatty also helped us deciding how many dishes we would need between us. As we had not been before we wanted to make sure we could try as many dishes as we could comfortably. The service for our drinks, food brought to the table was quick, piping hot, and beautifully presented. Every dish was introduced if we had forgetten what we ordered.

We mainly went for sushi, tempura, and robata grill dishes. My personal fav dish was the Black Cod, i would personally thoroughly recommend it. It was melt in your mouth so soft and smooth. Edamame is recommended and so good we ordered another one, very moreish.

Cocktails are very freshly served, large selection of drinks, especially when they give you a catalog of wines, on an ipad at your table.

We we for dessert of course, all chose something individually to then sharing each others. I went for the Mango Souffle i would recommend to go for it if your still hungry. The chocolate Souffle is also hard to beat!

I wouldn't say i would go regularly as its roughly £60-£70 per head with drinks for a decent amount of food between each other. I will though be certainly coming back in the future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Manchester”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This restaurant is the best by far in Manchester and although a bit pricey has it all. The ambiance, service and quality of food is exceptional and never disappoints. Great for impressive business lunch or social/ special occaisions we have even used it for our office Xmas party and the experience for all was knock out.

The subteranian element is impressive with the small glass box entrance on Spinningields a beacon of intrigue and a great first impression never diminishes as you enter the bar area with its trendy types and the odd celeb dotted about to add to the mix.

The Blackend Cod, Wagoo Beef and Suffle are our particular favourites but to be honest not had a bad dish and the Asiafusion style of sharing is always a great way to sample as much as possible!

Think they just introduced a new menu so due a visit in the next few week - might see you there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philcube3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australasia also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Australasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing