We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Molly House

The Molly House
Ranked #41 of 210 Nightlife in Manchester
Attraction details
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
498 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

What a great little place, almost hate to recommend it as it gets so busy if I rate it too highly I might not be able to get in next time!

Seriously though, we love it in here and whilst we have only visited at weekends so far, we plan on visiting mid week and spending more time there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank waldorf53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    25
    9
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Popped in for a drink this pm.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

First time in this lovely place but it won't be the last. We enjoyed a couple of drinks and stayed for about 2 hours feeling relaxed and enchanted by the ambience. We read the papers and soaked up the atmosphere whilst drinking delicious real ale which we sampled before having a full pint. What a gem, will be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sid90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A friendly house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

During a recent visit to Manchester, part of a 3 month holiday in the UK, we visited The Molly House in November for a drink one evening and happy that we did - we ended up staying over three hours, which is a long time for us. The bar staff were friendly, not pushy, sensibly chatty, jokey which made for a pleasant evening. Nibble food OK, warm winter ciders a treat!, ambiance good, we didn't go upstairs, we were too comfortable downstairs in the bar area. We found most Mancunians very friendly and open, many of them in this bar. Hardly a tourist in sight, except us, given it was winter this was understandable. We would have no hesitation of recommending this bar to our friends in Sydney most of whom travel a lot. Family members in UK said to us 'why are you going to Manchester - take your spears with you if you do!'. Well we've put them right, how wrong they were, so wrong in fact that we are returning again later this year, we loved Manchester! The Molly House helped in a big way!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cadigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

entered about a month ago and i was quite surprised with the cost of the drinks, there were too expensive.... but i guess i have enjoyed my night after all money means nothing to me....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Molly House could be such a great place, however, as much as I love the ambiance, the wine is expensive and badly kept, and the majority of the staff couldn't give two hoots - they're too busy flirting to bother serving you - such a pitty!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Molly House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Molly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing