We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly house”
Review of The Molly House

The Molly House
Ranked #42 of 207 Nightlife in Manchester
Attraction details
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A friendly house”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

During a recent visit to Manchester, part of a 3 month holiday in the UK, we visited The Molly House in November for a drink one evening and happy that we did - we ended up staying over three hours, which is a long time for us. The bar staff were friendly, not pushy, sensibly chatty, jokey which made for a pleasant evening. Nibble food OK, warm winter ciders a treat!, ambiance good, we didn't go upstairs, we were too comfortable downstairs in the bar area. We found most Mancunians very friendly and open, many of them in this bar. Hardly a tourist in sight, except us, given it was winter this was understandable. We would have no hesitation of recommending this bar to our friends in Sydney most of whom travel a lot. Family members in UK said to us 'why are you going to Manchester - take your spears with you if you do!'. Well we've put them right, how wrong they were, so wrong in fact that we are returning again later this year, we loved Manchester! The Molly House helped in a big way!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    9
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Place”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

entered about a month ago and i was quite surprised with the cost of the drinks, there were too expensive.... but i guess i have enjoyed my night after all money means nothing to me....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Molly House could be such a great place, however, as much as I love the ambiance, the wine is expensive and badly kept, and the majority of the staff couldn't give two hoots - they're too busy flirting to bother serving you - such a pitty!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brunch at The Molly House”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Molly House is a fantastic addition to Manchester's Gay Village. Having (in the time I've lived in Manchester) seen a gradual deterioration of Canal Street away from gentrification and towards the 'pile 'em high, sell 'em cheap' mentality, it is great to step off the main strip and discover this place on Richmond Street (which runs parallel to Canal Street). It's one of only a handful of bars in the Village encourages daylight to fill the venue, which with its tasteful decor and mixed crowd, makes a nice place to go during the daytime, as well as the evening. I often use this place as a venue to meet friends after work for a drink. The Molly House has a great selection of drinks across the board: wines, beers/ciders bottled/draught, real ales, cocktails. The wall behind the bar upstairs has a massive choice of spirits. Given it's a bar/pub, people don't always at first realise how good the food is here. In addition to sandwiches, burgers and the usual gastro-pub sides, the in-house chef also prepares excellent tapas (look out for offers) and a fantastic brunch menu. It's the only place I've seen and been able to get "Eggs Bury", a take on the usual Eggs Benedict, replacing the ham for a Bury black pudding - black pudding fans, this is a must to try! The staff are friendly and deliver great service. Some other reviews have suggested this place is quite expensive. I'd suggest it isn't anymore expensive than your typical Manchester bar outside of the Village (or similar venues in Village); and while drinks aren't priced at £1.50, they are not served in plastic cups either (as seems to be the trend), and you won't be fighting your way through a hen party to get to the bar! With friends, family, colleagues or on your own, for food or just drinks, I highly recommend this Village gem.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank michaelliffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Called in on new year's day. Great friendly atmosphere and great staff. Makes a change from the straight crowd that now populate a lot of canal street. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickalManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Molly House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Molly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing