We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough pizza, but unforgivably bad service”
Review of Italian Express

Italian Express
Ranked #1,602 of 2,400 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Let us introduce ourselves... Italian Express is a pizza and pasta takeaway first established in 2006. We have taken fast food delivery to the next level as we believe everyone should have the pleasure of eating restaurant quality food in the comfort of their own home. Want to feed your family a healthy dinner but don't want all the mess just time to relax and enjoy their company? Then why not order our delicious Italian pasta dishes without having to lift a finger in the kitchen. Not only can you order pasta and pizza we have a wide selection of starters, healthy salads, side dishes and our homemade desserts or if you're having a movie night and fancy a pizza delivery then look no further, we have it all covered we will even deliver it for free. Browse our menu and order online. To qualify for free pizza delivery the minimum spend is £11.00 This also applies to our online pizza delivery. What makes Italian Express different to other fast food outlets is we simply use only fresh ingredients our food is prepared and cooked on the premises in our open kitchen. If your weekly takeaway is your guilty pleasure, let us replace the guilt with only pleasure.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I’d used Italian Express once before and had a good experience, so they were first on my list for what should have been a nice night in with friends. We ordered two pizzas and, an hour later, they arrived – although one of the pizzas was clearly not what we'd ordered. Their response was to be rude and deny that they’d made any mistake at all. They bregrudingly sent a delivery guy with another pizza – alhough I didn’t ask them to. Then they proceeded to continually ring my phone and buzz our front door because we’d made the mistake of eating some of the wrong pizza they’d originally sent – not that we’d been told not to (and I don’t even want to think about what they wanted to do with it). All in all, Italian Express did a really good job of ruining our meal as well as our evening. Will be taking our business elsewhere in future!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LeonardMarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italian E, Manager at Italian Express, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2015

Thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear about this! The reason for taking the pizza back is simply for inspection to highlight where we had gone wrong for quality and training purposes. Sorry to have lost your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 34 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have been past the restaurant a couple of times and it is good to see that the kitchen is transparent, I have never eaten in. They clearly have good hygiene standards though. I order from Italian Express on the rare occasions I fancy a take out. The pizza's are excellent, particularly the Marinara. The pasta dishes are also very good. They have some great offers online. Probably the best take away pizza in Manchester, much better than the stodgy, ridiculously overpriced pizza Domino's offer. If you fancy a take out pizza, probably the best in Manchester.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MarkWJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italian E, Manager at Italian Express, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2015

Thanks for the feedback. Your kind words mean a lot to us and we value your custom. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Cracking Asparagus and Goats cheese pizza this afternoon, and at £6 (collection) for a 12'' pizza good value as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slipdigby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italian E, Manager at Italian Express, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2015

Thanks for your kind words, the Asparagi is one of our favourites too. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Went into the big Shop located on the corner, A few cars parked outside as i went in orederd a Margeritta pizza, took in total approx 10 mins or so, Decided to eat in, there was another couple eating in, i felt uncomfortable with the amount of males looking over at my table, there was around 4 or 5 guys all differnt races im presumming they were delivery drivers as they were all wearing jackets and joking amongst themselfs. The pizza it self was a very thin base average not great and bot bad, price was farily on the high side. Will i return probably not.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jerome J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I went to Italian Express over the weekend for the first time and the food was gorgeous. There were also some really great deals that they had instore and online. We went for the buy one pizza get the second 1/2 price so it turned out to be even better. The shop was immaculate and it was an open kitchen so I could watch my food being freshly made which was an added bonus too. The menu was impressive, they serve a large variety of thin based pizzas, pasta bakes, sides, salads, desserts and starters.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italian E, Manager at Italian Express, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2015

Thank you for your feedback. Your kind words are valued. We strive to offer something different from your average pizza takeaway and serve restaurant quality food to your door. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Express also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Italian Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing