We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day out”

Museum of Science & Industry
Ranked #2 of 182 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Science and Industry sits in the heart of Manchester, the world's first industrial city. It houses the world's oldest surviving passenger railway station and the world's first railway warehouse from 1830, which are located at the end of the museum site. On a visit to the museum, you will see amazing objects and learn about the men and women whose ideas changed the world forever. Daily demonstrations bring the museum's world class collection of textile and industrial machinery to life. There are interactive exhibits to explore and a regular programme of changing exhibitions to enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Whenever my 7 year old nephew come to visit from Swindon, this is always first on our to do list. So much variety and so much to see. I especially love the history of Manchester. My nephew loves anything to do with planes and loves the simulator. Our next visit is fast approaching !!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebsA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,934
    1,787
    426
    103
    37
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An eye opener”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We took the children for a day out and had our own eyes opened to so much history absolutely brilliant but we have to go back as we didn't get around all of it there's just so much to see and read about, the children thoroughly enjoyed it as well

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've been coming here since 1988. What a fantastic place. Lots to see and do. I used to come here with School from Chester and probably attend once a year now. As an Engineer, this museum ticks all my boxes! Steam engines and industrial revolution, some great information about early Manchester and the top floor has a great hands on science area. At 32 I struggle to get the kids off so I can play but you can manage it ;)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteviePManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
228 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Educational and Excellent”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Manchester's MOSI provides one with an excellent view across many of the scientific and industrial achievements attributed to the Manchester area. It is a large museum and I was particularly interested in the Rail, Aviation, and Automobile exhibits. I was also surprisingly interested in the exhibits of machinery, especially large steam driven generators - the kind of things that fascinate a person with their wheezing and hissing as if they have a life of their own. Significant exhibits were an actual Shackleton bomber and a cut away of a railway steam locomotive. Ongoing at the time were also exhibits of the brain and of the use of cotton. The exhibits are housed in a collection of industrial age buildings that have been carefully restored and are of interest themselves.
This is an educational museum with exhibits that are well presented and interesting to young and old. The fact that admission is free and that it is within walking distance of Manchester's downtown are two additional reasons for not failing to see it. And again, as with many national museums in Britain, admission is free although donations are accepted.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamarindwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
545 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“A great place to take the grandchildren”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is definitely one of those places to put on your radar if you were, as we were, having a weekend with your 3 year old and 11 month old grandchildren in mid-November. Outside it was cold, rainy and miserable. Inside it was warm and Experiment was captivating, for at least a couple of hours, for the 3 year old. The larger exhibits were a little on the cool side but held me spellbound at least and everything was safely fenced off! The restaurant on the 1st floor is also very friendly across the generations and satisfied all of us with a fair selection of fare at a reasonable price. Definitely one that can satiate all ages and costs you nothing, other than your donation, to get in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ollerbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science & Industry also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Museum of Science & Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing