We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the whole family and free!!!!”

Museum of Science & Industry
Ranked #2 of 182 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Science and Industry sits in the heart of Manchester, the world's first industrial city. It houses the world's oldest surviving passenger railway station and the world's first railway warehouse from 1830, which are located at the end of the museum site. On a visit to the museum, you will see amazing objects and learn about the men and women whose ideas changed the world forever. Daily demonstrations bring the museum's world class collection of textile and industrial machinery to life. There are interactive exhibits to explore and a regular programme of changing exhibitions to enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Excellent for the whole family and free!!!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value- it's free, good gift shop, can spend all day there as its over four buildings and many levels and as its placed in an old train station there is also steam train rides on many days, there is something for everyone from old cars trains planes and other vehicles to interactive experiments for youngsters old sewer works to walk through to gas and electricity and old machines engines and exhibits. A must for a day in Manchester.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank moon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,934
    1,786
    426
    103
    37
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!! Would go again!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Visited the museum this week & have to say its fantastic!
Don't park outside the entrance as it's £5 per 2 hours there is a car park for the museum at the back & you can enter via this and it's only £5 all day
The museum is huge spaced out over 5 buildings when you enter you can pay a donation of any amount into the tubs spread around the entrance and there are guides who give you a map & a card you scan on the machines..........You can register your card on the computers at the front & your picture appears on the screen in the gallery which my kids loved!!
I am sad to hear the goverment are looking at stopping funding however how fab the museums are I'm sure people wouldn't mind paying to get in you do everywhere else these days..
We payed to watch the 4d theatre 'fly me to the moon' it was £4 a adult and £3 a child shows started every 20mins & it was 12mins long, I wouldnt have paid it but having been in one in disneyland paris i knew my kids would love it & they did, however I wouldnt pay again!
definatly recommend taking kids in the holiday as a cheap day out!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“How Steam Made Manchester”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We took two of our grandsons aged five and seven to visit the museum. We have been here many times but parts of the museum have been updated since our last visit a year ago. In the main building they now have a presentation entitled Revolution, which demonstrates the power of steam and the rise of Manchester in the Industrial Revolution. The presenter involved the children to take part in some fun activities. There is a new cafe area on the first floor of the main building and a fabulous interactive area for children to understand some key scientific principles (e.g. steam, light, magnetism and so on). This was our grandson's favourite part of the museum. On that floor there is a small play area for younger children and story telling sessions. In other parts of the museum there are regular demonstrations of steam engines and cotton spinning. One new exhibition in the station hall was of the principles of picture animation with exhibits and spoken accounts from the Cosgrove Hall studios who made films such as Chorlton and The Wheelies. They have also made some changes to the station building where they have recreated a Victorian booking hall and waiting room as might have been found in the original London Road Station on which the museum is sited. Overall you would need at least four or five hours to see it all. There is lots to see and do for kids of all ages and parents and grandparents too. It makes a nice change fro ThemeParks and it's free!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysSeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

was surprised a museum was not climate controlled. buildings were very warm and muggy. the interactive elements were basic and unimaginative

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank IssabeauHawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droylsden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NEVER BEEN BEFORE GLAD WE DID!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

MOSI is a great place to visit, especially if you like to see how the North of England was at the pinnacle of engineering for so many ears and how that expertise has now gone global. Its free entry as well!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science & Industry also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Museum of Science & Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing