We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ceri Classic Weekend Away”

Museum of Science & Industry
Ranked #2 of 177 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Science and Industry sits in the heart of Manchester, the world's first industrial city. It houses the world's oldest surviving passenger railway station and the world's first railway warehouse from 1830, which are located at the end of the museum site. On a visit to the museum, you will see amazing objects and learn about the men and women whose ideas changed the world forever. Daily demonstrations bring the museum's world class collection of textile and industrial machinery to life. There are interactive exhibits to explore and a regular programme of changing exhibitions to enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ceri Classic Weekend Away”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

On our way back from a weekend in the Lake district we called at the museum we only had three hours to spend there. We used the cafe the fare was fine a little expencive however entrance to the museum was free. We went to watch the process 0f turning the cotton in to cloth all this was describeb by a young guy and lady who told the story very good also started some of the machines. we then went to see some of the trains engines and objects. We then went across the road to the other part of the museum which housed anything from speedway motorcycles to huge airoplanes. Due to our time there we could not see every thing there. So will visit again in the future.Theis a fuberp lpace to visit

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,896
    1,771
    420
    102
    36
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for children and free far all ages”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We took a 4 year old and our grown up son who is a wheelchair user. We went to the Experiment part which is for children. We were very impressed. The 4 year old rushed from one experiment to the next and really enjoyed them all . Obviously she could not understand all the science behind them but there were simple explanations written up next to everything. Older children there were also very much absorbed by the experiments and so were we. Although it was very busy as some children were on half term, there is so much to do that there was no waiting around. The most popular was a real car held vertically which even quite young children could move up a track with a wheel using levers. We also ate in the restaurant, which served good healthy food and children could pick 5 items which our granddaughter enjoyed. The whole place was very accessible for our son.

Helpful?
Thank cathryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great free attraction”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Museum is really big so can spend the whole day there. Lots to do for everyone. My favourite part was the air and space building. There are lots of cobbles between the buildings though, so you'd need to take time with prams, wheelchairs and those who struggle to walk.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank theburrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a wet day!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We visited for the first time on a wet Sunday with two 4 year olds. We all had a great time and only managed two of the buildings. There is a museum car park off Water Street that costs 5 pounds all day and means you are right next to everything. There is a cafe or you can take a picnic, loads of tables and chairs available for you to do this. There are also lockers so you can stash your picnic away rather than carrying it about. My boys loved the 4D film (14 pounds for the family) and all of the interactive displays around the whole place. This is definitely somewhere we will go back to. Everywhere nice and clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Ali1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good History Helpful Staff”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The place is full of history about the industrial revolution..a lot of machines are on display and the staff are always on hand to answer any question you might have. Also admission is FREE!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidT933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science & Industry also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Museum of Science & Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing