We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central hotel and value for money”
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great central hotel and value for money”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed here for one night for a hen do and it was perfect. Great location within walking distance of the city centre and no more than £5 in a taxi for anywhere else in the city! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and included everything you would need for a short stay including a decent hairdryer! The shower wasn't great and there was a lot of street noise but would expect this from a city centre hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ainsley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    257
    131
    51
    30
See reviews for
72
246
30
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have just returned from a stay at the castlefield for one night. Very good value for money I booked through a hen party site so did not choose the hotel but so glad it was this one!! We had triple rooms with 3 single beds, the room was big enough and the bathroom was massive! Check in was easy, left our bags with reception and came back later to check in the lady was very helpful. Taxi to get into the print works was £5 so very cheap. In the morning we went for a swim which was nice, pool was warm. They also have sauna, steam room and a gym. Breakfast was very good, range of items full english, fruit salad, muffins and croissants. I would definitely return to this hotel if I was coming back to Manchester. Would defiantly recommend for hen parties!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juiceluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The check in staff were helpful and friendly, good clean spacious rooms. The location is good, and reasonably priced in comparrison to some other hotels near by. A great base for a night out in Mancher. I would recomend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missglobetrotter860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My Mum and I stayed here on 19th June 2014 on our first trip to Manchester. We came to Manchester for the Coronation Street tour and this hotel was prime location for this (a 5 minute walk). It also sits directly opposite from the Science Museum and close to the Sky Tower of the Hilton Hotel. We visited the Spa on the afternoon for some treatments and the dark haired beautician was fantastic - extremely qualified, gentle and very friendly. Prices at the Spa are also very reasonable. No complaint there at all. There was also a pool and gym but we didn't use them.
We ate out so I can't comment on the restaurant/bar food.
The world cup was on the night we stayed so it did get a bit loud but no big deal.
Reception were very friendly - all of them! Great service there.
As for breakfast, there was plenty to chose from including a cooked English breakfast, cereals, fruit, yogurt, juice and a coffee/tea machine. My only complaint would be to have some fresh cheese and bread as it was processed wrapped cheese which wasn't great and was warm.
Rooms were nice with everything you'd need including an ironing board and iron. The shower can be a little difficult as it gets very hot. Just be careful not to scald yourself - check before you get in to adjust the temperature.
All in all, a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If you go during the World Cup, stay on a higher floor rather than a lower to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaLouise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

If I could give this place no stars I would. This is possibly the worst hotel I have stayed in for a long time. We paid £115 for the room for one night (parking and breakfast not included). The walk from the carpark was depressing as we waded through the litter and cigarette butts. There was a wedding on when we arrived and so a cloud of smoke from many smokers standing immediately outside the hotel entrance wasn't pleasant.
The room was very poor. tatty and grubby. It desperately needed a good clean and the broken light fittings and mouldy bath seals all needed replacing. When we looked at the bed, first impressions were that it hadn't yet been made up as there was only one very thin sheet on top of the stained mattress. We thought that this was maybe the mattress protector but then realised that no, this was actually all there was between us and the disgusting mattress. The furniture in the room was in a bad state. When I sat on the bed it squeaked terribly and the chair in the room was so wobbly we decided not to risk sitting on it.
The bathroom wasn't much better and I think they choose to have brown towels as they hide a multitude of sins!.
We were attending a function in Manchester later that evening and to be honest, if we had had time and could have found a room in another hotel we would have moved straight away. As time was short and we needed to eat something before we went out we thought we would risk room service. We were told the kitchen was shut to residents due to the wedding!!!!! (perhaps this was a blessing in disguise) I suggested that they should have told us this at the time of booking if possible and at the very least when we checked in. We were offered free parking and a free breakfast in compensation but after a rough nights sleep due to noise from the road (had to sleep with windows open due to no aircon) we decided to pass and left. The room was more like student accommodation than a hotel room and was a total rip off at £115. My advice is to pay a bit extra and not dread going back to your room after a night out or book early at the Premier Inn (If we hadn't driven in, we would have taken a taxi straight home after our event)

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel. Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jem999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed hear for 1 night as a couple, for her birthday; upgraded room with view over the canal.

The view was nice and can not moan about that but the hotel corridors and room we stayed in seemed really quite dated. The room wasn't unclean but could do with be refurbished; although the entrance and bar was very nice - looked to have just been done up.

The location is nice, 5/10 minute walk to Print Works/Bars Restaurants but overall pretty average. Would recommend looking at other hotels rather than this!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel because we were attending the UNICEF Soccer Aid Charity Football Match. The location of the hotel is perfect if you wish to visit Old Trafford, it's just a quick taxi ride away (£6.20) or you can take the Tram. The Hotel offers parking which is an extra cost on the price of the room (£10 for overnight). The room we had was spacious and clean with the reception staff being very polite, tentative and knowledgeable of the local area. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was delicious, we could not find fault.

Negatives- If you are a light sleeper you will hear everything in the corridor, for example when the the connecting door's close shut. The price of the room is on the steep side.

All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#52 of 117 in Manchester
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 117 in Manchester
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#7 of 117 in Manchester
1,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlefield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing