We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #61 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below average”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here this weekend to visit the Christmas markets. Upon arrival we were very happy secure car park, good reception area, nice bar which served food. We checked in and went straight out for the day without checking the room. When we arrived back we asked for a wine list from the bar. When we got back to the room we realised the damage on the walls main room and bathroom, cob webs all over the light fittings, mould on the windows, mould all over the bathroom ceiling, mould in one of the corners of the bedroom ceiling. There is a phone in the room but nothing to tell you how it works, we would have used room service to order champagne however there was not extention numbers or reception number. I was going to mention the problems at checkout however no one bothered to ask 'how was your stay'... not good for the price at all... may even go as far as to say would have beem better with a travel lodge type hotel as there is a standard to be met. Overall very welcoming when booking and arriving but not interested there after. Managment should really be getting on top of this!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleGirlie, Reservations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Benb,
Sorry you were less than completely satisfied with some aspects of your stay and you may rets assured that action has been taken where needed.

Delighted you found the welcome to your satisfaction.

All information, including how to operate the telephone, is in the Guest Information Pack in each room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    249
    125
    50
    29
See reviews for
69
240
29
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed at the Castlefield Hotel again, may sound boring but I believe "if it ain't broke, don't fix it".
We enjoy this hotel because nothing changes, rooms are good for the price, staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is in the right situation for doing what you want.
Had a bit of a problem with the television last time we stayed, nothing serious, but the manager gave us complementary breakfast on this stay as a good will gesture. Now that is customer service.
Still recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good value hotel in Manchester.

Room Tip: It's Manchester, don't expect anywhere to be quiet but this is as good as anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyboardCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Keyboard Cheshire, Delighted the 'same old story' is a good one!
Our aim is to provide value for money, a warm & friendly welcome and excellent facilities for the price- and I am glad that is what you found again.
We value all comments but do feel that good feedback from returning guests is more objective, meaningful and valuable for all users.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The facilities in the hotel were good and i took advantage of using the pool sauna and steam room. The breakfast was good too, plenty of choice but not kept hot enough for my liking. We booked the executive room. It was ok but nothing i would say special. The bathroom panel could do with replacing. All and all i enjoyed my stay. Not sure if i stay again , the price was £ 80 including breakfast. I chose this hotel because of the secure parking and the Spa. Shame the rooms let this otherwise great hotel down.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nightfever13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Nightfever13, Thanks for commenting & delighted you enjoyed your stay including the on site parking , spa and leisure facilities.This 'great hotel' is continually working on room maintenance and presentation, and your constructive comments are being acted on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel, good sports facilities. There's a 10m pool, sauna, steam room, gym and sports hall. The other reviews are right, it is a little dated but that wasn't a problem. I had a corner room which meant some road noise but it wasn't too bad. Great restaurants just a few doors along. I would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mollymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
MollyMermaid,
Thank you for your feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay and the excellent, on site, sports facilities.
The pool is, in fact, 18m long and is the largest hotel based pool in Manchester which, along with the facilities mentioned and the free classes, extensive sports hall and indoor running track, means the sports facility has something for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with my boyfriend on Sun 24th November. The room only cost us £50 for a double. It was a nice big room, very clean. The service was amazing everyone was so friendly and helpful. The bed was so comfy! It's only about a 15min walk into town, we would have liked to be somewhere closer but we couldn't pass on the deal. We went to the Y Club (the pool and gym attached) it's not really a romantic place but it it's intended for the general public and all the lovely old guys we met. We're not fussy though and it was nice to swim about and chill in the sauna and steam room with the oldies :) only criticisms would be that, as others have said before, the rooms need updating in certain areas, only specific places however, I found the decor very modern. Also we had no idea how to figure out the shower had a bath in the end which was lovely. Lovely stay, would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Marie W, Thanks for your feedback and glad you found the bed comfy, the room very clean and the team friendly & helpful. The leisure club is a member facility and not open to the general public and, yes, there are some characters in there!
Apologies about the shower controls and you will be happy to know that we have acted on this and put a simple diagram above the shower control so all are aware of how the mechanism works. Tlc is continually applied to the rooms and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

when booking this hotel we were quoted 110 euro, when we checked in it was 110 pound and 10 pound for parking. the bed was terrible and no running hot water. thank god it was for only 1 night.
never again

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Mick1167,
We have never quoted prices in Euros, we are still in the Sterling area so am at a loss as to why you would think this.Car parking is shown on booking sites so, again, surprised by your comments.
Sorry to hear you will not be visiting again but, should you change your mind, please contact me directly in order that I can ensure all services and facilities are to your entire satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

we were on the 3rd floor, the room was tired and the full length door/ window next to the bed did not shut / lock so there was a chill and noise from outside. the matress was torn and the room in general needed a bit of tlc.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank arsenaldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Arsenal Deb, Apologies for any disappointment experienced , including the OT result!. Mattress replaced and door repaired. Ongoing TLC being applied. Don't tell anyone but I hope you finish above the other 19 teams!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
2,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#59 of 116 in Manchester
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 116 in Manchester
1,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 116 in Manchester
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlefield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing