We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay 15/11/13” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #63 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One night stay 15/11/13”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked this hotel as research showed it was close to the Opera House where we were going that that evening to watch 'Singin in the Rain.' It took us approximately five minutes of a gentle stroll from the hotel to the Opera House.
The Hotel staff were very friendly and informative.
We stayed in room 208 which is adjacent to the main road.
The King size bed was very comfortable. The rest of the room was OK with the usual facilities.
The wifi worked in the bedroom. The only reason I mention this is I have stayed in some hotels when you had to go to the lobby to get a descent signal.
The shower was very weak and it caused my partner difficulty when she washed her hair. A problem I don't have being follicely challenged.
The gym looked well equipped although we didn't use it we did use the pool, sauna and steam room. As good as any other I have used.
The reason I have given this hotel three stars is down to the double glazing (i think). Having had a god night out in Manchester we collapsed into the very comfortable bed only to be woken by the sound of voices coming from people passing by on the road below. In the morning I opened the windows and then closed them and the difference to the traffic noise was minimal.
Check-out was very smooth and I mentioned the noise issue and the receptionist said he would make a note of it.
After paying the £10 car park fee for 24hrs we left to make our way home.
Would we stay there again? Not to sure.
If you want breakfast it will cost £7.50 if you pre-book it or £8.50 on the day. We decided not to bother with the breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the road side on the second floor if you have trouble getting back to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Tery2, Delighted you found the king size bed comfortable, the team friendly & informative and the wifi doing it's job! The leisure facilities are wide ranging and provide pampering or 'punishment' depending on your choice.
Apologies about the shower pressure and the double glazing. The maintenance team will be checking both shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    245
    123
    50
    29
See reviews for
68
236
29
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Me and my husband stayed for just one night, found it a lovely place to stay and the room was lovely! Breakfast hit the spot the next morning with plenty of selection! All in all a great place to stay, would reccommend to anyone :)

Room Tip: Always get a breakfast included! brilliant value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeniiBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Jeni, Many thanks for commenting. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast selection and would return- we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altrincham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've stayed here a couple times now and had mixed stays. Both were on a Saturday night. The first time I was kept awake all night by the people in the next room. They were drunk and partying all night. The had other friends in the hotel they were in and out of each others rooms; banging on doors till 6 in the morning. Not the hotels fault but the walls are v thin and the layout of some of the rooms doesn't help. The room I was in (same on both occasions) was a little tired and the bed wasn't that great. However the staff I met were friendly and helpful, the hotel is in a great location opposite mosa, 2 minutes from deansgate, , 5 mins mcr central and castlefield. There is a free bus that you can get on that takes you all round the city centre, I used it to get up to Victoria train station. The hotel also has a car park which they charge £10 for using but its secure and worth doing. It also has the use of the pool and gym underneath. Overall a good place to stay if you can get it at the right price and are aware that there could be noise at a weekend. If you want to impress the other half pay a bit extra and stay some where else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daz_ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Daz, Apologies on behalf of the inconsiderate guests being noisier than acceptable. Please ring down to the Night Team and they will take the appropriate action.
As you highlight, the hotel location is excellent as are the on site leisure facilities and the on site parking which, at £10.00 for overnight in central Manchester, is well below the market rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed recently for 2 nights room only and overall had a reasonable stay; the hotel is within easy walking distance from the city centre and a short metro from Salford Quays, also the parking is useful and the leisure facilities are pretty good, pool and decent sized gym.

The room was reasonable on the whole if tricky to get the right temperature overnight. My main issue with it was that we'd paid extra for a superior room with king sized bed, but this "king sized bed" consisted of two beds pushed together with a king size sheet and duvet. As such, moving near the middle of the bed or rolling over in sleep resulting in me falling into the indent gap between the two mattresses! Not really "superior", I'd have preferred a double. I was planning to raise this issue on check-out but I wasn't asked how my stay was, and wasn't feeling up to an argument.

Also there was some damp on the ceiling in the room, but I understand from management comments that renovation is planned on this.

One final point is that hotel access via car is somewhat more tricky now due to a medium term road closure that of course my satnav system was not aware about, and as a result I, having never been to Manchester before, got in a bit of a knot trying to find my way in through the last few hundred metres to the hotel in an unfamiliar city. The hotel had sent me two emails reminding me of my "confermation" (sic) which mostly appeared to be trying to upsell evening meals etc. It would have been very useful to mention the road closure at some point in these or another communication, as the Hotel website did not mention it at all.

Overall then not a bad base for Manchester visit, but don't spend money on the superior room, I feel a bit cheated afterwards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
MatthewA3,
Thanks for your comments and sorry you were unhappy with the King size bed arrangement. In common with many hotels, to provide flexibility for double or twin rooms we use 'zip & link' beds in some rooms.

Comments about the road closure will be acted upon as will the mis -spelling on the follow up email which does mention extra facilities but is designed to act as an aide memoire for all guests that have reserved rooms at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stopped at this hotel on the 1st of November for 1 night after booking on the internet. They make a big deal of advertising parking but don't make such a big deal of telling you it will cost you £10 overnight and a further £6 if you stop in Manchester and leave your car there the following day. It is obviously a problem as it is the first question they ask at reception before they make out you are the only one with the problem.
Anyway leaving that aside the hotel has a pool but apart from that everything else is a bit poor when you consider there is Permier Inn nearby which isn't much different in price. Rooms very hot and a bit dirty, breakfast was left under heat for too long and staff are not very attentive or customer focussed. I receptionist made out I had room only and even when provided with the paperwork to show I had booked breakfast said 'OK I can add it now for you' I think she missed the point that having alread booked it I didn't expect to have to inform you of the booking I had made as it was made with you and confirmed hence the paperwork. Also told me she would speak to the manager about the car park issue I raised and then didn't bother. Following this the guy on the desk the next day didn't listen to a question I asked about 3 times or couldn't understand it so gave up in the end.
Would I stop there again or recommend? No and not unless I didn't really like you.

Room Tip: If you have to stop there try and get a high room so when it gets too hot you can avoid noise coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Bernard` B,
It seems your stay got off on the wrong foot due to you not having checked on the details of the on site car parking and the charges which are fully displayed on the website.The matter is raised by reception in order that you are fully aware of the situation and details of access and egress are given.
Apologies for the other shortcomings you mention and the fact that the room was too warm on a November night.All matters have been addressed and your constructive comments will be treated with the respect they deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

london
Level Contributor
196 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Not a bad hotel, cost fairly low

Bit of a trek to city shops

Didn't have breakfast so can't comment

Room basic but clean

Waited long time for taxi ordered by hotel almost missed my train, but I guess this is not down to hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Ian T,

Apologies for delay in taxi arriving. Surprised to read about trek to shops particularly as we are just 400 metres from Deansgate in an oasis of calm by the Castlefield canal basin. I suppose it depends on which shops you are referring to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Yeah sure the hotel looks a bit tired, especially the rooms, but the staff are friendly and the facilities are really good. Great pool, sauna, steam room and an extensive gym and weights room, as well as a full size gymnasium and squash courts. Booked through laterooms and at £109 for one night with breakfast it wasn't the cheapest. Our superior room was sparsely furnished, but it was clean and had a nice view of the canal. This is a good place to stay if you have time to take advantage of the pool and other fitness facilities as we did.

Room Tip: Go Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Ethoscon,
Thanks for the feedback and delighted you enjoyed the on site leisure facilities which are free to all hotel residents. Room refurbishment is ongoing and the next tranche is planned for January 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#64 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful corner of the city, only 400 metres from Manchester city centre by foot. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 20 years. Free wifi and free use of our on site gym comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing