We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good nights sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #59 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This is my second visit to the castlefield and hopefully won't be the last. Great location for eating and drinking and close enough to the shops. I do feel the rooms need a bit of TLC though, although not enough to stop me staying here again and using the spa on site which is a big added bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie_potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thanks for your review Jackie. Glad you like the spa and, with regard to the rooms, we are continually upgrading and improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 688 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stay at the Castlefield regulary and would recommend it if your looking for a value for money location. Clean, friendly well located but basic it is well worth a visit. No frills but does have a large leisure centre attached which is free to residents. Other good features include free Wi Fi, 10% discount on food if your resident and a secure car park.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Liverpool Rd can be noisy due to the busy road. Rooms facing the canal locks are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swelsh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Swelsh 2013,AS a regular visitor your review points out succinctly what the hotel is all about-clean, friendly and value for money. With free wi-fi, 10% resident food discount, excellent leisure facilities and on site car parking most bases are covered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Would stay here again.
Good value based on two people sharing including breakfast.
Room was comfortable, neat and tidy, a bit noisy with the traffic but it is Central Manchester. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
Secure car park, didn't mind paying £10!!
Breakfast in the morning was very good, excellent choice and plenty of it.
Lovely location next to the canal, easy to find and close to everywhere I needed to go!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Sharon A, thanks for your review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay, the location- as you say it is Manchester city centre, so some noise to be expected-and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived on wednesday 28th August for 1 night, when we arrived the receptionist was very nice and polite, we were given all the information we required about the bar and lift etc... I asked about the wifi and was promptly given a code, we were on 2nd floor when we enter the room we were pleasantly surprised of how nice and how big the room was, the view from the window was not as bad as I was expecting as we were facing the front looking towards the museum there was traffic at night but from about 1am after going for a walk, we fount that the traffic was not that bad and cant see why anyone is complaining, we had the best night sleep in a long time, the bathroom was very spacious, the only downfall we had was that the fact when you entered the room, the door needed to be opened with the key and my daughter of 15 fount it a bit hard to open, she went to the pool, which she wish she had a swimming costume, but were staying for only one night, we have stayed at the premier inn before in manchester and after staying at the castlefield hotel, I dont think we will go bk to staying at the premier inn again unless the castlefield is full, I just wish we had seen this hotel before now otherwise we would have always been stayikng here from the start, I think the premier inn have lost a customer now untill at least the castlefield is fully booked. We are already booked up for october this year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starlight1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Starlight 1974, many thanks for your extensive and informative review.
We look forward to welcoming you back. Don't forget your cozzies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

checked in staff very friendly,hotel was very clean,swimming pool and gym sauna steam excellent.location great area,overlooking the canel loverley walks around there,also the steam trains oppsite were fabulous

Room Tip: choose rooms overlooking the canel if you wont it quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerald w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Gerald W, Thanks for your feedback.Your review says it all and it is good to know we are getting things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here for the lesiure facilties Sauna steam room and sports im a light sleeper all i could hear was road traffic i would stay here again if they give me a room on the quite side. The food is good even though i not ate here its good i could do with a jacuzzi the pool is good

Room Tip: If staying here ask for a room in the quite section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Garth W, Thank you for your review. Next time we would be delighted to offer a room on the canal side of the hotel.
Maybe you could eat with us and add substance to this review. Good luck with the jacuzzi purchase.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just got back from spending 5 nights here and defo would go back again.Our room was spacious bright and clean,Staff were all very pleasant polite and friendly.,Breakfast buffet each morning was always well stocked and choices of items varied over the few days.We didn't have enough time to use any of the leisure facilities but it will be on our to do list next time! Hotel is in perfect location for city centre within 10 min walk to Arndale shopping etc.Still cant believe either that you get FREE bus travel in and around the city with buses every 6 min,bliss!!Overall had brilliant wee break and looking forward to doing it again at the Castlefield.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacq026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Jacq026, Thank you for the excellent feedback relating to your 5 night stay her.Delighted you enjoyed the varied breakfast, clean, spacious and bright rooms and the location with the free city centre buses just 200 metres from the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#35 of 121 in Manchester
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#28 of 121 in Manchester
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#18 of 121 in Manchester
2,763 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 121 in Manchester
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlefield Hotel

Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $70 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing