We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So”
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked a room for an overnight business trip. The room was basic but clean. Lots of MDF! Shower/bath mixer did not work so had to have a shower of sorts whilst bath running at same time!Chef had gone on holiday and not come back so no evening meals!
Bed was OK but why do they insist on those plastic mattress covers - I only take them off! A noisy night as every so often a group of noisy people gathered on the patio laughing and talking loudly (they may well have been hotel staff on a smoke break!)
Breakfast was not much to write about - I was first down at 7 and food was already going cold! All buffet style even the tea.
All in all it was OK but nothing special. At £50 you get what you pay for. The breakfast at £7 was not worth bothering with - plenty of places around where a hot breakfast can be found and the car parking at £10 was a rip off as plenty of street parking at night (I was not aware of).
Location is excellent - so if you want a cheap night without any extras - its fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cockneyjohn504022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and the supposition that the noisy people on the patio 'may have been staff' .My supposition, based on a deep knowledge of the property is that, more than likely, they weren't.
Your final sentence says it all "Location is excellent - so if you want a cheap night without any extras - its fine."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    257
    131
    51
    30
See reviews for
72
246
30
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed here for only 1 night with my son who is 14, he was in the pool and sauna, the facilities are amazing, the staff are extremely helpful and all very nice. breakfast was a feast I would definitely stay here again!! WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Jacqueline T, Many thanks for your 'WOW'. Delighted you and your son enjoyed the excellent on site leisure facilities, including the 18 metre pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights to attend the wedding of some friends who live in the centre. The hotel is ideally located for walking into the town centre or using the free bus service. Our room was clean and quiet being on the canal basin side of the building. We booked based on its location and competitive price, but do feel the room was looking a little tired, and could do with a makeover. Also, no air conditioning, so was very very warm! Unfortunately, breakfast was very disappointing, very watery orange juice from the machine, tinned mushrooms and all a little luke warm from the buffet - so much so we gave breakfast a miss on our second nights stay.

Room Tip: Ask to be overlooking the canal basin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tattinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Tattinger, Thanks for commenting and disappointed breakfast did not meet your expectations. I must take issue with the 'tinned mushrooms' comment as we only use fresh.Thanks for mentioning the 'friendly staff'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here two nights while attending a couple of plays at the Manchester International Festival. I like its location, nice outlook over the canal basin and realatively quiet area. The rooms are cosy and comfortable enough. What makes this hotel a bit more special is the friendly and appproachable staff, they deserve 6 stars. Give it a try, it is just 3 star but special 3 star.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Adrian O, Thank you for commenting and very happy that you have highlighted the 'difference'. Every hotel has beds/food/drink but the real difference is the people that deliver these srvices to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My philosophy is that you get what you pay for. We paid £65 for one night as we were attending my son's graduation. It was perfect as it is very central and had secure parking at £10 per 24 hours which is cheap for this part of Manchester. The breakfast was okay - a minimal choice of cereals, hot food and toast and preserves etc. The room was a good size but not air-conditioned so in the current hot weather it was very warm. We opened the windows for some air but then we got quite loud ttraffic noise from the road. So ask for a quiet room overlooking the canal as opposed to a room over the road. the rooms were basic but clean and we had a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask fro a room away from the road and overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Stewartm, Delighted you found the hotel value for money and, as you say, with onsite overnight parking at £10.00, a fair price for city centre parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend. Brilliant location, walking distance to the city centre. Lovely walking around the canal area as well as near lots of shops, bars & restaurants. Fantastic Spa Facilities and I'm already making plans to go back for a girlie pampering weekend. Breakfast was great, lots of choice, hot, well cooked and fresh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Largs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Largs2, Apologies for the tardy response. Delighted you enjoyed the excellent location, spa and breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have held a small conference at the venue on two occasions and found the hotel to be quite excellent in all areas. The situation of the hotel is very attractive in the heart of the historic and pedestrianised Castlefield area near to the centre of Manchester. There are many excellent bars and restaurants nearby. The leisure centre is extensive with very good pool and gym. The food and accommodation were really good. The hotel was very good value. The main attraction however are the staff who were consistently helpful and friendly.

Warmly recommended

Room Tip: There are good rooms overlooking the Museum of Science and industry and others overlooking the attra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Tony B,

Thank you for commenting about your recent experiences when hosting your conferences.
Your comments cover all that we strive to do well and about the hotel's excellent location.
With 3 meeting rooms the Castlefield is ideal for such gatherings andthe flexibility, friendliness and attitude of the team are a boon to your meeting and the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#52 of 117 in Manchester
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 117 in Manchester
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#7 of 117 in Manchester
1,572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlefield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing