We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel near city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #61 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the Castlefield Hotel with friends the Saturday before Christmas. The rooms (2 twins) were spacious, clean and well appointed. The staff were really friendly and helpful - they even gave us loads of tea bags and milk when we returned from our night out (even though it was well after 1pm) so we had plenty for the morning. The only problem we had was that the rooms were on side opposite the Museum of Science and the road was extemely busy with traffic and revellers all night so it was difficult to get decent sleep. Especially as we had to have the windows open because the room was so hot. We mentioned it to the staff and they said there were plans to put in double glazing so this might be better in the future. Having said all this I would definitely stay at the Castlefield again as it is great value for money in a great location. We didn't use the spa or have breakfast so I can't comment - but may try them at the next visit.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on Liverpool Road (opposite the Museum of Science) as these can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trixie772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Trixie772,Delighted you found the hotel 'great value' on your pre-Christas visit and that you found the teamfriendly and helpful.
The windows on the Liverpool Road side of the hotel are already double glazed bute being replaced as soon as we have a quiet period to try try to make them more effective at keeping noise out.
However, if they are opened they do not solve the problem.They also retain the heat within the room so maybe the best solution is to modify the heat before retiring for the night in order that the temperature is comfortable for sleeping and the windows can do their job of reducing noise.However, as I am sure you will appreciate, everyone has a different idea of a comfortable sleeping temperature.
Thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 660 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here twice in the last 2 weeks which perhaps says something but its not the full story.

Stayed 2 weeks ago and had a comfortable stay for a business trip. I only spent a little time in the standard room but it was comfortable. The room was clean but the bathroom was tired with a rotting bath panel. There was an offer on for a spa treatment so I decided to book again and bring my wife for a pre Christmas treat. I booked a superior room and enquired about the spa. I was told to book the spa when we checked in. When we arrived I was told to see the spa reception to book a treatment, only to be told that there were no appointments left during our stay - this was a big disappointment and part of the reason for booking in the first place.

The superior room gave us a larger tv and an iPod dock. It also guaranteed a quieter room on the canal side of the hotel. The room was basically clean and comfortable but had a strange smell when you first enter the room which you don't notice after a few minutes. Also, the bath panel was rotting in this room as well as the previous room and the bath seal did not touch the wall. There were dust webs above the curtains to the ceiling. There was no sugar in the room and one chocolate drink between two of us.

Overall the hotel needs a little care and attention but is comfortable.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AAA04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

AAA04, thanks for commenting and returning. Apologies for the spa being booked when you arrived- reception will now ensure you are advised to reserve spa treatments at the time of booking.
Room issues are disappointing and have been actioned. I feel attention to detail has suffered on this occasion and will be sorted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just spent another 2 fantastic days at The Castlefield Hotel. We have stayed before many times and love the fact the staff are always the same!!! Dave is a wonder and nothing is too much trouble for him and his colleagues. Had we read the previous reviews we would not have booked but we had been before so we know its perfect. Why be so negative if you have a complaint GO TO RECEPTION it will be rectified!!!! We went to the Christmas Markets and to see a film got back and were exhausted a pint in the bar and room service later. The food was perfect, delivered on time and HOT!!! Took the picture when I had half eaten it, loads of salmon perfection!!!Thanks once again to all the FANTASTIC staff have a Great Christmas. See you soon.

Room Tip: We have used many rooms but 211 was quite and cosy. 3 fantastic windows to gaze out on the marina ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Gillian 070, thanks for commenting and thank you for the positive remarks about the team, particularly Dave.
It is good to get such posituve feedback from returning guests and thanks for the common sense advice for all other guests-if you have a problem please let us know at the time.
If you wait to comment on TA then we can only apologise and put matters right for the future, not put it right for you at the time, which I would have thought would be best for you ... but maybe some feel better posting on TA.
Delighted you enjoyed your food and your stay- we look forward to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just spent two days at the Castlefield, good location just opposte Museum of Science and Industry whichbis free to enter. Clean basic rooms butvthose on museum side can be noisy due to passing traffic. Locals and taxis use itvas a rat run and traffic can be faster than normal. Breakfastvis fresh and buffet style, adequate choice inc fruit, cereals and fried items. Use the shuttle buses that run from then front of the museum ever 10 mins and thy link up withbthe other 2 free routes that cover the main city area. We will stay atvthis ckean and friendly hotel again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Scubasteve,We look forward to welcoming you back and are delighted you found the hotel clean,the breakfast fresh with a decent choice and the location good- particularly when taking advantage of Manchestyer's free shuttle buses which stop some 350 metres away

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed in Castlefield Hotel several years ago, when it truly was good value for money. Sadly it all looks a bit worn and tired now. I stayed in a twin room which looked ok, but the bath room looked rather worse for wear. There was a mouldy smell to it and to my horror the ceiling was covered in mould! The workmanship was apalling with paint drippings, thick smudgy tile grout and a slowly disintegrating bath tap. I also found it quite noisy at night, with traffic passing and thin walls so our neighbours could be heard returning late at night.
However, it wasn't all doom and gloom. The staff at reception were always friendly and helpful, and a big bonus is the on site car park with big iron fencing, an automated gate and CCTV surveilled at recpetion - at a coost of £ 9 per night though.
The location is right in the middle of picturesque Castlefield and a less than 5 mins walk away from all the shops and restaurants of the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the canal rather than the rather noisy Liverpool rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ria569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Ria569, Disappointed with your review as the bathroom ceiling issue is poor and action has been taken.Tap centre ( ceramic bit) is cracked but not disentegrating and will be replaced.
Glad you appreciated the on site car park and the friendliness of the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Fantastic location, good quality restaurants nearby and a 5 min walk to Xmas markets. The castle field hotel is ok. It's modern (sort of) but looks a little shabby! We purchased a king room (304) which for us felt more like a basic double room - the bed was the most uncomfortable one we have ever slept in. The springs were sticking in our backs all night. No pillow or mattress protectors! The windows in the room were very drafty and the noise level was quite high at times. We used the fitness facilities and they were good. Be careful when depositing items at reception as it appears not all staff know the procedure, ie some don't offer receipts and you have to ask for them! Breakfast is ok but the layout could do with being reorganised. The tea and coffee machines are in the middle of the buffet and we had to wait for guests to finish getting their drinks before we could put our eggs on the plate ha ha. NO Tomato or brown sauce - now that is bad - spoiled the breakfast for us! Parking is £10 which is ok, but really it should be free for paying guests. We would stay again for location purposes but book a basic room without breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Topycat, thanks for commenting. sorry about the mattress issue- we have now purchased a new one for that room.
Delighted you enjoyed the leisure facilities. Puzzled by buffet breakfast comment re. layout as starters/juices are first display, mains second display and coffee/tea/toast etc on 3rd display- which we feel is logical.
City centre overnight parking at £10.00 is extremely competitive within the area and, only charging guests who park a car is a much fairer way than raising the room rates for all- as many others do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

away stopping at castlefield hotel really looking forward to staying.arrived booked in was out till 9pm.had a really good day.1pm we wondered what was going on millions of people noise cars,we might as well as slept on the pavement.windows not very good we could hear everything finally 5pm it went quite what now road sweepers.so we only had a few hours.we went down for breakfast help your self tables not set out nice we got our breakfast it was cold couldnt eat it just had toast.the young women came over we told her no reply nothing she just took the pots away.we reported to the desk about the bad night and the breakfast cold and that it is not good and how long as it been there abit risky really.she apoligized and refunded our money for breakfast.the windows she said it was getting done.i couldnt understand two gentlemen who go quite often put up with this they said they ask for a back room when they come.this ios not helping other people they should complain.other than that lovely time.

Room Tip: dont take the front rooms on liverpool road and maybe not eat the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Suzy 1995, glad you had a lovely time. sad you found room noisy and brekfast cold- we are in a city centre with double glazing in all rooms- some of which are roadside and some canalside. Thanks for your tip for regular visitors of which there are many.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#65 of 120 in Manchester
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 120 in Manchester
4,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#41 of 120 in Manchester
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlefield Hotel

Address: Castlefield Hotel, Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $68 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castlefield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing