We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT book this hotel”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Do NOT book this hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I'm not going to waste too much time on this review as this hotel was rubbish!! The only fantastic thing about this hotel is it's location. We were right in the centre of Manchester, next to Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & The Print Works. Even tho the rooms were clean they were very very shabby!! We returned to the hotel later in the afternoon to get showered for our night out in Manchester to where some of our rooms had no electricity & no hot water. Even tho the staff were very helpful & sorted the problems out fairly quickly I ended up drying my hair in the corridor as the room I was staying in did have hot water & electricity but our plug sockets did not work!!!! Our room was very cold as the main window in the room did not shut properly!! Breakfast was terrible, it was an all you can eat buffet, but the bacon was drippin in grease, beans were cold, scrambled eggs were horrible. The only thing I convinced myself to eat was toast! All I can say is 'pay that little bit extra as this hotel spoilt my weekend' !!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judek69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    194
    183
    127
    195
See reviews for
81
271
97
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We stayed here for one night and had read the reviews so had mixed feelings. The hotel is in a great location: you are one minute away from Printworks cinema and restaurants. It was quiet the night we stayed but this was midweek. The hotel is surrouded by pubs and bars which could get rowdy at the weekend. Our family room turned out to be two connecting rooms (no door) which is great when travelling with two teenagers. The staff were very friendly. However, the hotel itself does seem to be on a par with independent youth hostels - a bit run down and a bit wonky! The rooms were a bit grotty but the bedding was indisputedly clean. In fairness the hotel is in the middle of refurbishment. The breakfast was of a good standard (same as you would expect in other budget hotel chains). We got this room on a deal but if I had to pay more than £20 per person for bed and breakfast I would probably feel ripped off.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Hotel was in course of refurbishment by new owner when we stayed with a group of 18 professionals on a stag weekend. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms clean and adequate. Location superb. Worried about two pubs alongside, but they were well supervised, and closed at normal pub closing time so no early hours noise. 50 yards from Deansgate, with great shopping, Kendal Milnes etc. and awash with good pubs and restaurants. Try Bem Brasil opposite Kendals - great eat all you can -stop when you want with best cuts of beef, pork, lamb, chicken, sausage. Don't eat before you go there!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legaleagle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The only good things about this hotel is the location and the staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

lancashire
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2010

me and my sister in law booked 4 rooms in this hotel for new years eve, mainly for the location. we was put off by the reviews ,but there was no other hotels available, when we arrived we was suprised to see the hotel was nothing like expected it was clean, the staff where very helpul and polite. and the location couldnt be beat. for what we paid is was great and i would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topaz1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Arrived at hotel to find that it had closed down two weeks previously! I had no warning from Hotels.com (who I booked it through) or the hotel itself so had to find alternative accommodation. Terrible!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank godsakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2009

This hotel surprised me after reading such bad reviews! My Single room was very clean, modern, had en-siute b/room. All staff inc. the Manger coulndn't do enough for me throughout my stay! My room no 19 looked onto the bars next door, Selfridges and the Manchester Wheel. Noisy at night but thats summer for you! 5 Star Service!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#41 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Property: Mitre Hotel
Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing