We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for .”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #95 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute and was reasonably cheap compared to other hotels .loved the location ,staff were friendly .we booked into room 18 with stunning views of the cathedral .The room itself was what i expected for the price we paid .yes it does need a little refurb inn places which i believe is in progress .But the bed was comfy and linen was clean so did have a good nights sleep .would definatly use this hotel again but maybe upgrade to a better room .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyjoeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. As you mentioned we are in the process of refurbishment, however being a listed building some work is easier to carry out than others. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
There are newer reviews for Mitre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 914 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in . Live Wiers were hangging out of a wall light that looked like it had been ripped off above the bed. Airial was cellotaped together and was dangerous. Radiator didnt work. Beds fell to pieces when you sat on them. Also the lock on the door was not secure as it looked like it had been bashed in . Not worth money atall. Only good thing was the location and the view of the church . Even the food wasnt homemade as states in menu . Awfull.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michellefaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Recently stayed two nights. First - the positives! Great location, pleasant reception staff. Unfortunately that's about it. I had to haul my case up three flights of creaky stairs up to the attic. My room was very small, claustrophobic (couldn't open windows) ,frayed dirty looking carpet, thin duvet,cheap flat pack white melamine furniture - the back of the wardrobe was hanging loose, the vinyl in the bathroom cut too wide around the base of the sink, tiles missing around the shower and blackened grout, no bedside light, the place was dirty, black specks of something in the chest of drawers so didn't dare put my clothes in them, noise of bottle bins being emptied around 5 am, quite an uncomfortable nights sleep. The whole place needs a revamp. It could be really nice with a bit of work to it, which I hope will be done, as the building itself is full of character.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPMNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, you will be happy to hear that we are currently undergoing work throughout the hotel which is neither intrusive or disruptive to our guest. We will look into the points you have highlighted in your review and hope this will encourage you to stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is ideal and the staff were friendly.
Unfortunately there isn't anything else positive to say. It is run down and everything other than the bed linen was dirty. I stayed with my mother and sister in a large family room. At £129 it was not value for money. I wouldn't stay here again. Grim.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Gingerlamb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed at the Mitre and the experience was poor, even though the location is great and staff is friendly, the room itself leaves a lot to be desired.

The floor is carpeted but very noisy and uneven. There is a Pub on the ground floor and sort of a beer garden surrounding the location which is great as enjoying the nightlife starts at your doorstep.

There were stains on the walls / I am guessing from humidity therefore it needs painting.

The TV has no remote control and Internet can only be used in the reception lounge.. The staff was friendly and courteous.

The bed headboard was not even attached to the bed. It was a standard base bed and a leather headboard was moving so I removed it in the end. See pictures attached

The price was reasonable 29gbp per night however I will be looking elsewhere next time. The carpet had white stains and the chest of drawers where the TV stands does not close, the first drawer opens all the time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Great location !! we went to see Russell Howard with friends , warm welcome and told everything we needed to know .
Rooms perfect for what we needed lovey view to go with it ,woke up by the lovely bell ringing to .
Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a cheap well located hotel thanks again to the staff and the free hugs !

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank fletch2185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 28th Feb for one night with my partner. Very pleasantly surprised as we turned up to be greeted with amazing staff hospitality and amazing value for money. We booked the day before with LateRooms.com which I highly suggest if you don't need to plan in advance. We got a standard double with no en suite for £29. Bargain! I was a bit dubious about the no bathroom situation however you have your own bathroom just next door and another just next door to that so you don't even have to share with anyone. The only difference being there is just no entrance to it from your bedroom.

The rooms were stunning. In a rush to book I hadn't realised that it was a boutique style hotel and absolutely fell in love with the blend of modern - chic and original features. Absolutely full of character.

The location is brill! Step outside and you're a couple of steps from the Arndale center.

Breakfast in the morning was lovely. Just a standard hot and cold buffet selection with a £4.99 pp charge. Beautiful views of the cathedral next door.

Sadly we didn't get to experience the bar downstairs however it seemed quite lively and high spirited when we walked past in the evening. Although we couldn't hear a thing from our bedroom. (3rd floor)

All in all the staff are wonderful, the rooms are gorgeous and location is brilliant!

Top Tips-
Book through Laterooms and get a fab deal
If you want to eat in the area (I.e Prezzo, Hard Rock Cafe etc.) then make a reservation.
Unless you made a reservation then it was a 35-1 hour waiting time. (This was around 6 o clock on Friday night)

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gemdrops93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.2 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 119 in Manchester
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#33 of 119 in Manchester
1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#74 of 119 in Manchester
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 119 in Manchester
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $34 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing