We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what do people expect?”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #93 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed August 26, 2013

It fails to suprise me how some people can expect perfection and not pay the earth for it.
just sent excellent weekend at Mitre Hotel in the center of Manchester. Clean, comfortable, City Center and complementary breakfast.What do some people
want...Excellent value and will def. recommend to all my friends and family ☆☆☆☆ well satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 967 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here last weekend, it was a fab location and overall great accommodation, however were considerably noisey. Saying that what do you expect from a city center location. The staff were great, room was clean and comfortable, great value for what I paid, we could defo stay as again but pack my ear plugs

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjm101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just arrived back from our stay at the Mitre, it is in a great location, we had a lovely room with en suite with a lovely comfy bed. We had a cooked breakfast which we really enjoyed. All the Staff were really friendly and helpful, next time we go to Manchester we will be booking a room at the Mitre. Thanks x

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good value for price paid. Not all rooms are en suite. It is up some steep stairs so be aware if you can't do stairs. It is a typical old English BnB, but they do provide tea and coffee and shampoo and soap. There is plenty of cheap parking nearby so don't pay the exorbitant rates of the NCP car parks. It is a lovely location and close to the MEN arena. We were offered complimentary breakfast as we stayed a Saturday night- breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A prime location and very convenient, BUT a single night stay in room 17 was disappointing. Shabby decor, dirty window frames, and floors that slope in every direction. Chair was stained, bathroom ceiling was stained and sink was outside of bathroom, in a small lobby. Light fitting at bedside hanging off wall and other side not working. Had a feel of an old B&B. Air fresheners in the hallways and on toilet cisterns, room smelled funny if window not open. Window opened onto a grotty yard with noisy drains and the smell and noise from the kitchen. Didn't stay for breakfast. Missed the shabby chic and was just plain shabby. £44 seems cheap but you get better value for money in a more corporate budget hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A lovely little individual hotel, our room was a little room with creaky floorboards-added to the charm in my opinion- sink outside the bathroom which was a bit odd but not a problem. Nice en-suite with bath and shower. Lovely friendly and helpful staff and the breakfast was great. Clean room and a perfect location. Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which had a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toboggajess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitre Hotel M, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we are very proud of our hotel and its quirkiness as we feel it stands out from the rest. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a two night stay with my friend and this hotel was perfect. Booked single en suite rooms and they were perfect. Very clean and good size rooms. Staff were lovely and really polite. Perfect location. Couldn't fault this place and will defiantly use it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitre Hotel M, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi thank you for your review are staff work hard and its nice to know you found them friendly we are very proud of our little gem and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
1.2 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#35 of 120 in Manchester
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#73 of 120 in Manchester
199 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $42 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing