We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“half empty, half full”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #94 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed May 20, 2013

i find this hotel is what you make of it, as all the other reviews state, the staff are great the location is great and it is cheap and clean, indisputably.
It is undergoing renovation, i hope they don't alter this 200 year old gem too much, it is quirky and very reasonably priced, personally, complaining about noise when you have booked such a city central location makes you a natural born whinger, and lord knows there are no shortage of them.
check in is quick and easy, and the staff will bend over backwards to help, even with the most ridiculous demands. breakfast was prompt and all you can eat and of a good standard, we had a problem with the shower, but for a 200 year old building there are bound to be some issues, we let the receptionist know and it was dealt with quickly and with a smile. I will book again certainly, and will rest assured i have somewhere safe and central to lay my head for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mooelladeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 996 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Overall the hotel was great. There for was something lurking on the floor down the side of one of the beds, I don't think it was alive but tried not to look that close. Staff were really friendly & nice. Room was surprisingly quiet which was great.
Head boards on the bed would be nice.
The toilet had a leak that ran along the floor but we didn't say anything as we weren't in the room long enough for it to bother us.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcdasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here for one night during a short trip to see Beyonce. The hotel is so close to the Arndale Centre, Harvey Nics and Selfridges you can see them from the hotel room window! It is also a 10 minute walk to the MCR arena which is excellent. The bed was so comfortable and lounge / bar area in the reception was well refurbished. There could have been more plug sockets and the shower could have been more powerful but for a central location and comfy night's sleep you can't beat this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuniorAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Mitre claims to be a "boutique hotel" but is little more than a collection of very tacky furnishings trying to cover up the generally poor facilities.
You can feel the bed springs of the matresses, the ensuites are generally very old and only semi-functioning - showers rarely work properly eg a trickle of water in a shower that was probably installed 20-30 years ago, or a blast of freezing or piping hot water you can't control. If the shower works the bath doesn't and vice versa. The carpets are shabby and old, often fraying away from the walls, the tvs frequently don't work or barely do (in one room the ariel is hanging literally by cable threads.
In some rooms you might get two wardrobes, in others you'll have none and you'll rarely get a clothes hanger in any of them (not including the odd childs one that is!). In the winter the heating often doesn't work and there are no spare blankets etc.
There are no phones in any rooms despite what it says on the website.
The claims of "modern decor" are hugely misleading. If anything it's very cheap take on a sort of footballers wives'-style.
Essentially it's not a comfortable stay, nor a particularly cheap on. The staff though are very friendly which I think is about the best thing you can say about it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherinedevaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Mitre for one night while attending a concert at the arena.

First impressions were not great. Check in is from 2 and after arriving at quarter past we were told it would be 5 minutes until our room was ready. 45 minutes later we were finally given our key and told we'd been upgraded as they didn't have any double rooms left (a little alarming as we'd booked 3 months in advance). If we'd paid extra for this superior room we would have been very disappointed. The decor is fine but the fixtures are very worn. The lamps had no bulbs in them and there were holes in the bathroom walls and cracked tiles on the floor.

The sink in the bathroom was wonky and sprayed water all over the floor. Our bed creaked so loudly at the slightest movement so neither of us slept much. No toiletries and no hair dryer according to a rude man on reception.

We felt we could have paid less and had a much nicer stay in a Premier Inn. It's a real shame as the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawni21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the cathedral grounds, it is an old building but inside it is very modern
the furniture is very individual and the bed very comfortable and clean. The room we had was probably the best with lots of windows overlooking shops ( esp Louis Vuitton) the courtyard and pubs. Great for a night out, shopping or handy for th Gmex. Loved it!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelnaylor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had a couple of nights away. When we arrived we were greeted by the most polite gentleman on reception. We got to our room, which was spotless and the first thing we saw was a wonderful view of the cathedral. There was a private bar for guests open until 5am, which was very peaceful and relaxing. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the shops and restaurants in piccadilly gardens and market street. You can arrive back at the hotel anytime as they have a 24 hour reception and are guarenteed a good nights sleep due to the peaceful location. We had the window open all night and didnt hear anything. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be using it again when we go back to manchester.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakethorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#76 of 121 in Manchester
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#36 of 121 in Manchester
1,240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 121 in Manchester
1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#66 of 121 in Manchester
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $41 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing