We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem!”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Me and a friend stayed in this hotel about a month ago and its was fantastic! We decided to go to Manchester for a night out last minute and found this hotel on late rooms. We did not know what to expect of the hotel but we were stunned!
We were lucky enough to stay in a newly renovated room 33 i think it is, they said it was a bridal suite (beautiful room not quite up to a wedding suite standard only due to the poor shower in the bathroom). The room was decorated beautifully and the exposed brick work gave it a real wow factor.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. excellent location!
The only down fall was the bathroom but i would definatly stay again!
I would reccomend to go and give it a try you will be pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: ask for the bridal suite! stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikewalker315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    194
    182
    127
    194
See reviews for
80
270
97
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Having booked months before to attend the Party conference I was horrified to read the reviews just hours before I arrived. What do you expect for £58 a night for a double room including breakfast? Well there was a friendly welcome and the room was clean with decent sized towels, The bathroom was small but clean and the bed comfortable, For the price it was a bargain - other hotels in Manchester were charging at least double even for a 3 star hotel. It's great for the shops and I would stay again - yes it is like a boarding house but at least it was friendly

Room Tip: It seems like pot luck but take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper tell them if you can't mana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 898Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed here once before in a nicer room. Average accomodation - bit noisey due to location.

Good breakfast and staff ok!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

my partner booked this hotel online ,initially it looked good due to the fact it was within walking distance to m e n arena where we were due to go and see peter kay.,
upon arrival we had to negotiate a flight of stairs to get to reception(not good with suitcases)
reception was well presented with polite staff. we were given our key with directions to room(another flight of stairs couple of sets of steps narrow corridors still struggling with suitcases)
THE ROOM! ....
reminded me of a student bedsit!!! the bed was i think a stone slab masquarading as 1!.it was hard and very uncomfortable
BATHROOM!
was so tiny,after using the loo it was a job to ""turn and adjust your attire"" no vetalation and little room to dry yourself properly after a shower.
THE VIEW
was looking straight at the cathederal which in it self was lovely....however throughout the night it is illuminated likea football pitch so even with the (waferthin) curtains drawn the room was illuminated as well poor nights sleep DID NOT wake up happy or refreshed.
would we go there again??? not realy no.

Room Tip: ask to see a couple of rooms 1st then you decide upon it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnynsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

South coast uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Given its location, this could be the best hotel in Manchester. What a waste. Not particularly cheap and certainly much more than Travelodge which would have been cleaner - something for me to say!! Breakfast was cheap salty bacon, cheap fatty sausages, rubber egg and over cooked beans - all for about £7.50!! - go to Cafe Rouge for breakfast, it's cheaper and better. I had a single room with an en-suite the size of a broom cupboard. Toilet smelt every time it was flushed suggesting broken pipes or 'Muncher' which kept going off in the night. Strip lights on the outside window sill so constant light though thin curtains.
Towels were clean though and duvet clean.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

stayed for 2 nights room was more than adequate great little bar. breakfast was buffet style and service was good. brilliant location right next to 3 bars and the wheel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edthered7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Was seriously concerned when i booked the hotel last November for this Augusts Pride. However first impressions were great, when we eventually realised we had to go through the bar & upstairs to find the hotels reception. The bar looked very modern & stylish with its decor, chandaliers and furniture so a good first impression was had so far. When we got upstairs to check in, the reception room/area was the equally pleasing to the eye Same decor/style, very clean & modern ( see photos enclosed ) so i was pleased so far having read the mixed reviews.

We were given our room key & we were greeted with the same stylish decor in our room. Then on close inspection it changed a little, a shelf that was in the room was not straight and looked very unsafe if items were placed on it. A chair in the room was actually postioned next to said shelf and looked like it was indeed supporting the shelf Then there was the bathroom because it had no extractor fan, the wallpaper to the bathrooms walls were falling off in places espacilly around the shower ( due to the condensation from the shower ) Also a wooden panel had fallen off and had simply not been replaced or re-postioned ( put up to hide the water pipes etc ) Although it was clean the room was simply let down by something that would take just 5 or 10 minutes to rectify.

The beds were ok a little hard but ok, we did ask to see another room but when we saw it we decided to stick with the room we had. One bed in the other room was really low & both were old as the mattresses were really hard. Breakfast was ok though with a good full english or vegaterian option being available. Staff were very friendly and welcoming so even though our room needed some tlc in places we were happy with what we paid and generally how the hotel looked. It was at the end of the day clean,central & a decent price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevejb4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#41 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Property: Mitre Hotel
Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing