We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming”
Review of YHA Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
Reviewed March 21, 2009

The YHA isn't easy to find, but once arrived it already feels like vacations!
Very nice location and I particularly found the breakfast room lovely.
Employees there were very cool. I would advise that place for a few days to spend around Manchester or Liverpool.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnAgony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    141
    58
    18
    9
See reviews for
36
20
124
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2009

this hostel was nice enough. i was there on the 27th november 2008. the breakfast was cold and when i was made to wait 10 minutes for a clean fork it was even colder. on the plus side there was a decent choice for breakfast. the ensuite was a disaster. there was no water coming from the shower. the lad i asked for help did his best and finally got the water flowing. however i made the mistake of assuming everything was now ok because when i got in the shower i also found that the water would not heat up either. as i was not going to get dry and dressed and go and ask for assistance again i just put up with a cold shower. the silly thing with the ensuite is that when the light is turned on the extraction thingy starts up and is quite loud. that is not what you want happening if someone uses the toilet during the night. it also takes an age to go off after the light has been turned off. it is still a good place to stay if you cant afford a hotel. i would go again they just need to sort some things out.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the en suite bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnajunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2008

The standard was high abow what I expected from a hostel, with excellent food and bar. Also great warm breakfast. The staff were very nice and helpful. Beautiful surroundings with the canals and house boats and really close to the railway from airport. Also really close to central Manchester with MEN Arena and shopping centres. Our two teenage girls thrived and didn't want to leave after 4 nights.
I would love to come back and would warmly recommend this hostel.

  • Liked — The helpful and nice staff....... and facilities, bar, food...
  • Disliked — leaving....
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ches52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We stayed at the YHA for one night after attending the Gay Wedding show in Manchester. Being teenagers, we didn't have high expectations but were impressed by the very handsome young man who saw to us on reception. ;) ;) ;) All the staff were very friendly and always wanted to help.

The restuarant is okay... A bit different from what we were expecting. The service was not good, even though we were the only one's eating at the time (..!) The food is of a good quality, and so the price is too!!! Make sure whoever takes your order understands you, though...

Breakfast is okay. Watered down juice and eggs.. NO BACON!

The room was satisfactory, a little small, but what do you expect, really. A short walk to the centre, or a taxi costs around £5 is you're a bit wobbly at the knees from a night out!!!

The other facilities were very good. There was a games room, very good locker storage, and some tv room we didn't investigate.

There is 24hour access which is good, and cool key cards.

Well worth looking at if you're in Manchester for a couple of nights, but if you're there longer, look for more comfort.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Uncomfy beds
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sesau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2008

My partner was a bit sceptical about staying at a youth hostel, having last been to one in the 70's however eventually gave in and agreed since it was only somewhere to sleep during a weekend visit. He's now said he'd be more than happy to stay at any others I suggest :) He was quite suprised at how many "mature" customers there were at breakfast and also a real mix of families, groups and individuals.

We booked directly with the hostel and were able to reserve a private room for the same price of 2 bunks in dorms - the room actually had 4 bunks, so neither of us had to climb up top! The beds were very firm - but I still felt very comfortable.

The room was basic but clean - the beds are already made up for you ; and there were plenty of lockers available - take your own padlock or rent one from reception for £2.50. The rooms have private ensuite loo & shower room - which are pretty small (and remind me of bathrooms on north sea ferrys!) but ours had a nice powerful shower.

The price also includes breakfast - a help-yourself buffet including a limited selection of fruit juice, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, ham and hot breakfast items (availability of which varied a bit). This also functions as a bar/restaurant (advertised lots of organic ingrediants)in the evening - we arrived after it had closed and the reception staff were very helpful in advising us on places to eat.

The hostel also has a free car park outside, as well as good transport links. The Science&Industry museum accross the road has free entry and is a great place to pass a few hours for all ages.

Might not be what you're after for a romantic/luxury weekend, but definitely recommended for somewhere to stay for a basic or budget break for singles, families or groups of all ages.

  • Liked — Value for money, Bright and airey reception (no dark and dreary hotel carpet!), friendly welcoming reception staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast on Sundaywas a bit hit and miss (but was great on Saturday!)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Queenie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2008

This is a nice clean hostel. The staff are nice enough, the location is a little far from the centre. It is a little boring though but if you meet the right people its not too bad.

Well worth a stay when in Manchester.

  • Liked — The staff there
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank backpackinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying at the Manchester YHA for 6 nights recently. It was clean, with excellent facilities and a high level of customer service.
The location is great...it is right on the canals, which house many very tame ducks, and is also within easy walking distance of the city centre and Oxford Street Train Station.
The breakfast menu was very varied and the evening meals were hearty and healthy.
I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness,location and helpful Reception staff
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.5 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Manchester

Property: YHA Manchester
Address: Potato Wharf | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Manchester Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing