We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Recommend”
Review of YHA Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Manchester
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights during February half term. Location is good, right by the canal. Short walk to the centre of Manchester (shops) and there are lots of bars and good restaurants close the Hostel. Tesco express and Sainsburys local also close by. The Hostel was clean and warm with helpful staff. Self catering kitchen had all the appliances you need, but found it small and could get crowded at times. Breakfast was £4.95, buffet style and good value. Metrolink station a short walk. Overall, would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWelshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 399 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

Dear Sarah, Lewis and all the team at YHA,


On behalf of our parents and us we would like to say a collective thank you for all your time, patience, energy and enthusiasm for our event at YHA on Saturday 4th February 2012.


From the outset you were extremely professional and helpful and wiling to go the extra mile. We visited the YHA number of times over the last few months and were always greeted in a friendly manner and had all our (sometimes many!) questions answered.


The event was a leaving party and post-wedding knees up for our friends and family and so was extremely important to us and the YHA did not let us down. It provided a fantastic location, venue, staff, food, and the level of informality and homeliness that we'd wanted as opposed to more "stuffy" wedding venues. One member of staff even took it upon herself to take drinks round to people when they arrived which I know is above and beyond duty!


Sarah and Lewis were excpetional in their professionalism and adaptation to different parts of the party. We have already had many emails and letters saying how much fun people had and what a great place and event it was.


Thanks for everything and once we get photos back we will send some on.


All the very best and thanks for helping to make the weekend of our lives.


Tom and Thea Wingfield

Room Tip: Generally quiet even though relatively central. 4 of the rooms have a double bed plus bunk beds idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Just arrived back from a weekend break in manchester with a group of friends!! I had never stayed in a hostel before and was fairly skeptical about it.
We arrived well before check in at 10am but where given a room straight away.Good start!! The staff on reception were lovely and very friendly. We booked a 4 person private room with private bathroom, it was spotlessly clean and the beds were made up for us. Bathroom was a little bit small, it reminded me of an airplane bathroom with a shower! but it had everything we needed!
There is a restaurant downstairs, and the food is pretty decent and its a good price! Games room is great and theres a tv room swell that has massive couches in the room, great for chilling out and nursing a hangover on! :)
The only criticism i would have is that it is a bit away from the main part of town. a 25-30 min walk. which wouldn't be bad on a nice day.. but it was snowing when we got there!
Other than that i would recommend this place for anyone to stay in! not just youths but families, couples and people with children!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memersxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

i've never been to a youth hostel before but if this one is anything to go by i'd definitely go to another! There were 4 of us and although we'd paid for 4 beds in a shared dorm we got a private room with bathroom as the shared rooms are only for 4 people, the bathroom is like that of a ferry cabin but still has everything you need and is better than having to go to a shared one in the middle of the night. I don't doubt the people who said it's only a short walk into town but as me and my friends are a bit geographically challenged we ended up getting lost the one time we tried it so instead got the free metroshuttle bus (the purple one stops at quay street just at the bottom of the road with the science museum on for those interested).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank EJ8719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Being new to hostels at the age of 31, (how that happened I don't know), I have been surprised at the brilliant value and professionalism these places give. An easy 20 minute walk into central Manchester, this hostel is excellent. Modern throughout with excellent security and key card access. Great range of food, and drinks between 11am and 8:30pm. Vending machines, games room outside tables and a nice view onto the canals make this a great hostel. Compact but good bathrooms, clean rooms with lockers, you will need your own padlocks. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Overall I rate this hostel highly.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAYZEE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Travelled with children (11 and 9) for weekend in Manchester.

Room adequate - bit grubby.

En-suite was akin to an aeroplane toilet (or those at Monkseaton High School !).

Kitchen had leaking "U Bend" and half missing oven door.

Woken on Saturday morning by geese on the canal.

Saturday evening the Castlefields events arena opposite had a rock concert on - with family room overlooking the arena area, it meant the children didn't get to sleep until after 11pm.

Overall - adequate ..... just.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyManWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I had to do some work in Manchester for a couple of day sometimes and so I stayed at this hostel during that time. I had a single room with facilities and restaurant and both were clean and comfortable (this is a hostel so I did not expect the same comfort as in a hotel. ) Food was served in cafeteria style, basic but OK. No luxuries here but no luxuy price either. So I was happy. It"s in a cool and trendy bit of Manchester central and easy transportation links. It was nice sometimes to talk to the other hostellers.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank German1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 120 in Manchester
4,458 reviews
0.5 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#37 of 120 in Manchester
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Manchester

Address: Potato Wharf | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range: $23 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Manchester Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing