We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel close to the downtown Manchester” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #46 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Kaarina, Finland
1 review
“Good hotel close to the downtown Manchester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

Good hotel, the double room is quite small but well enough for one couple. Breakfast is a standard one, both English and continental. The staff was helpful. Location is good, only few minutes by walk to the Piccadilly Station.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo09_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    592
    309
    115
    76
See reviews for
129
521
154
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel was just ok. Most of the people at the front desk were nice enough, except one man who told us flat-out he was too busy to do something (which was a reasonable request) for us! That is horrendous service for a service-oriented business. They were several blocks away from the main city centre, so their location was just ok. And the rooms are tiny, but that's to be expected in Europe. The breakfast wasn't included in our stay and we were told it cost almost 11 pounds each, but one couple who ate breakfast said it wasn't bad. On the good side, the internet (and printing) is free, but there are only 2 computers in the lounge, so you often have to wait for someone to finish. I believe there was free wifi, but I wouldn't know since I didn't have my laptop with me.

One main word of warning though...Do not rely on their wake up call service. During our 5 day stay, we requested 2 wake up calls and they messed up both. Once, they called 15 minutes early, and then they called 15 minutes late the next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_girl_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights and the room was OK but rather hot, this meant needing to keep windows open at night and due to the number of students around it was often very noisy outside late at night. A good location to get into Manchester and the staff where very polite and helpful. Would I stay here again must likely not due to the noise. I can not rate the Food or Bar as I did not use theses.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack8032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

room was small for a double and very hot as no air conditioning in room. we were provided with a very small and noisy fan . the food was excellent the staff were very nice indeed the prices were good for the drinks therefore i would stay at this hotel again .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wackyjackyNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

Booked via expedia as they had 50% off.

We stayed in the room offered as a Workzone room. Was spacious clean and modern. Drinks making facilities, breakfast cereal bars, bottled water etc. Plenty of towels and extra pillows. Huge TV but didnt use it.

Staff very helpful and friendly.

One thing to mention is its right next door to if not even part of the student halls of residence. So there was a little noise with them all coming in from the clubs....if your room overlooks that side of the block.

We were just using it overnight for the Green Day gig. For the price £35 it was a bargain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fourtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilterns
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

The hotel forms part of the Manchester Conference Centre, and is clearly aimed at the business traveller. The rooms are adequate, both in size and comfort, but are poorly ventilated. So much so when we were there that the management had provided a fan, but we required two for comfort - in fairness, the three nights were very warm (about 25 degrees).

The staff were responsive, and the breakfast buffet perfectly fine. The biggest attraction is perhaps the location of the hotel - less than 10 minutes walk from Piccadilly station, provided you know the short cut! We took the best part of half and hour, mainly because the Google map took us the long way round. The provsion of an on-line map by the hotel would be useful to overcome this problem.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights for my 30th birthday and to see Peter Kay at the MEN.

This is the second time we have used the hotel and we were not disappointed.

We are actually going back again in December and have already booked.

The rooms have been refurbished since we were last there and they are v comfortable with everything you need. The only thing we were not sure about is no door on the bathroom in a single room.

The Days Inn is ideally located. Not too far from the station or the city centre but far enough out that it is v quiet at night.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatestar022305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#55 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing