We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor Room like a Prison Cell”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
uk kent
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Very Poor Room like a Prison Cell”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I have too add to the Negative comments on the site i agree location is fantastic and price was fair.......but the budget rooms are actually student accomodation very basic and tatty with damage to the decor and doors ,No television ....very hard single bed and in the Weston wing where the room was located the smell of sewage was very strong .THIS WAS THE WORST HOTEL ROOM I HAVE EVER STAYED IN !!! I imagine a prison cell too be bigger and in better condition .Please be aware when booking at this site of the different standards.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytriplad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    596
    319
    117
    77
See reviews for
130
529
154
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Part of a big conference - so perhaps it would have been different otherwise. Rooms are ok - but not special in any possible sense. Cleaning is adequate. Breakfast was a huge awful buffet (but this might have been due to the conference) and they didn't serve food until 7.30am. However, the staff were helpful - thank you.

The location was poor - felt as though it was part of nowhere and not particularly safe.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Stayed here last Saturday night, and received very friendly service, as well as vouchers for free drinks at the bar (which served Real Ale, though that wasn't on the offer). Very convenient location in a safe area of the city, handy for restaurants and bars and wotnot. Breakfast was served until 11, and was fresh until then - we arrived just after 10 and they were still bringing out fresh food for the hot buffet. hotel that we could see on each floor, and great artwork in the room.

They also had a great pendulum in the mdidle of the

I'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Size15Stylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh,scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

stayed here for 3 nights fri to mon and have stayed in alot worse hotels for more money it was cracking value for the comforts we received
checkin: very quick and easy, staff very helpful we actually arrived earlier than the check in time and were in our room within about 5 mins from entering the building
room: we chose a workzone room (smoking room) the room was very spacious with a large full bathroom in the room we had a double bed, large workdesk, shelving and hanging space, couple of chairs and large flat screen tv on wall, also provided were tea/coffee facilities and a fan. in the bathroom was shower gel/shampoo
the room was a bit stuffy but the weather was hot outside so the fan was very appreciated - we seen the standard room and i would recommend upgrading to a workzone room esp if there is 2 of you for longer than 1 night
staff; reception staff were very helpful, with everything to maps to recommendations for dinner to shopping very polite and always smiling
we never used the restaurant /bar if you dont get breakfast included in your deal you can pay £9.95 p/p/p/day which we never did, plenty of places close by to get a full breakfast for just over a few quid
location: fantastic only few minutes walk from oxford road station and about 5 mins walk from picadilly station then all the shopping places are within a 10 min walk
the hotel also offers a luggage store and you can leave your bags all day
i would definately use this hotel again and would also use the other days hotels in uk if this is the standard to expect, i would recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

enjoyed my stay here, walking distance from railway station, city centre, shopping, buses, restaurents, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, i must stay again

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khatpandwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2009

My partner and I recently stayed here for two nights while we were visiting friends and attending a concert in Manchester. I booked a couple of months in advance and got a very nice deal for a "Work Zone" room, which I can highly recommend if you're not travelling solo. The hotel is located just five minute's walk from Piccadilly Station, and about 20 from the MEN Arena, and has plenty of amenities around.

The room itself was a lot more spacious than I'd thought it would be, so if you like to spread out, get a Work Zone room! The room was clean and well-organised, although it did get a little stuffy at night. I'm glad that we didn't visit during the heatwave a few weeks ago because the small electric fan provided just enough relief. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and seemed happy to answer any questions or provide any assistance we needed.

I would definitely stay here again for any future visits to the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
around
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This hotel is ideal if you are arriving into the picadilly train station as it is a 10 minute walk away. The rooms are really modern, clean and have everything you expect from adays hotel. I dont think the rooms are small, but then again if i was over a size 20 then i might disagree.

The service was efficient and the buffet brekkie was delicious with plenty of variety, even for a veggie like me.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaffacake_leanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#57 of 116 in Manchester
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing