We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #45 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel for seeing Manchester as it is situated near the city centre. Clean room and good service was excellent. Buffet breakfast style so food can be a bit dried out but all in all not too bad.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseph h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay. We strive to offer really good value for money with clean and well-equipped hotel rooms in the heart of the city, together with excellent friendly service - it is rewarding to read you agree that we are achieving our goals. Our buffet style breakfasts are always popular, and we will share your valuable feedback with our team. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again when you next visit Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends. We all had rooms with two single beds. The rooms were clean and spacious enough to have enough personal space. From my point of view there are two lessons to learn for the Pendulum hotel: outlets near the beds and in the bathroom and a new key card system. Every day my key card was disconnected again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiRae84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to read that all of your rooms were spacious and clean and ideal for you and your friends to stay for a few nights. Room key cards can be sensitive to magnetic or electrical devices, and a disconnected room key may be as a result from it being carried next to a mobile phone. We hope to extend another warm and friendly welcome to you and your friends the next time you visit Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Stayed here Saturday night for a hen party in manchester, close to canal street ( walking distance). Hotel check in was straightforward, even a slight problem was sorted out efficiently, hotel was spotless rooms well stocked Tea coffee etc, iron ironing board, tv hairdryer. Beds lovely and comfy. Breakfast was buffett style but plenty of choice, full english/fruit etc. The only slight negative for thls hotel, and it is only slight is that we were at the front of the hotel it is on a busy road, also this hotel, seems to be busy all night as well so it was a bit noisey but only a small niggle really, stay again oh yes and a night out in canal street was so good

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommatreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

We are pleased that your overnight stay with us offered good value for money and that your rooms were well equipped, with lovely comfy beds. Canal Street is such a popular part of the city, and we are delighted that you would stay with us again. Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights,nice hotel with some nice features nice intimate bar area,the hotel was very clean and the staff was very pleasant and helpful,i would say its about a 10 min walk into the centre of manchester and a 2 min walk to the train station,the only downside i found was the room was a bit on the small side for us,but we would stay here again though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you for your excellent comments and feedback about your 2 night stay with us. We offer a range of rooms and sizes. Our ‘City Doubles’ are exceptional value and well-equipped for an overnight stay, however Standard Doubles do offer more space and Classic Doubles even more with additional comfy seating areas. Our Executive Suite is our largest room type if space is an important consideration. We are pleased that you would stay with us again and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Me and my fella stayed here for a night out in manchester. On arrival the hotel looked alot bigger than it did online. The staff were really friendly and the value for money was outstanding. The rooms had everything you needed and the bed was well comfy. We would defo stay again ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinky3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

M\any thanks for sharing your experience and delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had an equally good night out in Manchester and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Visited for Manchester Pride, some standards have dropped since last visit and there were clear basic errors.
The same receptionist spent so much time faffing about with papers that the other male receptionist had served three people and then a female came and served me, he was as bad last time I recall.
soap dish in the shower hanging off, clearly had already fallen off because you could see the original raw plugs yet rather than move the dish they drilled right next to the original plugs so needless to say there was no grip, further more drilling into the grout rather than the tile means there is no adherence for the plug and it was not sealed against the water.
a wall tile by the door to the room kept falling off stronger adhesive would have solved this in the first instance.
The breakfast was served in a cold room on cold plates, when I mentioned the cold to the waitress the reply was" well it is raining" I fail to see what this has to do with failing to put the heating on in the room well in advance of breakfast. Serving hot breakfast on cold plates so by the time your part way through the food has gone cold. I have mentioned this on the previous visits and filled in the evaluation card but clearly they failed to read or bother to act upon these things. It was hit and miss as to if you needed to ask of coffee with your breakfast or if it would be offered, one day it was offered immediately the next day I had to ask the next day it was offered and the final day I had to wait for the staff to finish discussing job opportunities and cv's with an Indian lady before I could get coffee. There are some carpets which need replacing as you clearly see where the join is now falling apart, the guttering by the coffee shop is growing plants and so water runs onto the speaker there. The speakers in reception near the lifts vibrate and hiss and desperately need replacing or the bass needs turning down to allow hearing the music properly.
The room cleanliness was good despite the soap dish and the cleaning staff efficient.
I have now stopped several times and standards are slipping more and more which is sad considering the standards it previously maintained.
Perhaps it is less about changing the name perhaps a change of management and systems are now required as they have taken their eye off the ball now.
It is not the most expensive hotel in its range but it is at risk of failing to warrant the price.

Room Tip: view the pictures and read room description as some of the rooms the bed is directly against the wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed the busy Pride Weekend celebrations. We are sorry that there were aspects of your stay that didn’t meet your expectations. We are listening very carefully and making many improvements to our hotel including new carpets to the public areas. We are pleased that your room was clean and our staff were efficient. We offer a range of room types to suit a range of budgets - some are advertised as compact doubles and others are more spacious with seating areas and additional facilities. We hope to extend a warm and friendly welcome to you the next time you are visiting Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

booked on an offer which included a meal meal and drink with breakfast included. The room was small but very compact it had everything we couldnt fault it. Evn noticed an ironing board tucked away just before we left. Hotel staff lovely and helpful. Just a great over night stay especially on gay pride weekend too we slept like logs. defo go again

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and delighted to read that you will definitely return to stay with us again. We note and appreciate the top marks given for sleep quality, rooms and service and look forward to extending another warm and friendly welcome in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $64 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing