We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #46 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed for 1 night as we were doing the Corrie Tour & wanted somewhere in City centre.A 5 minute walk from Piccadily Station & not too far from Arnfield Shopping centre,about 20 mins so well located. Room was very clean as were the communal loos. We had a twin room which was big enough with wi-fi (didnt use it!!) quite basic decoration but the biggest problem was the noise. A quiet room had been requested & we found we were at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road......not usually the quietest!!!!! Unfortunately it wasnt just the noise from outside......loud music & car alarms etc...but slamming doors & loud guests.....we think there was a hen party just down the corridor!!!! It was a shame as the staff were helpful,breakfast was fine,very clean & good location.

Room Tip: Request room at rear or side of hotel for peace,we were already on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudymacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Trudymacey

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know you were satisfied with the service you received as well as our facilities, however I would like to apologies for the noise caused during your stay and I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.


Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    592
    309
    116
    76
See reviews for
129
521
154
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

friendly and helpful staff. great city centre location.Good value for money. the business conference facilities were excellent. lunch and refreshments served on time and the conference room was bright and airy with large patio windows opening on to the courtyard area with outside seating. great for getting some fresh air during long conferences.

Room Tip: great hospitality. friendly and helpful staff. great city centre location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gamela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear gamela a

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with us from which I was very pleased to learn that you found our staff friendly and helpful and our conference facilities were excellent .

I hope that we can continue to live up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel for your next visit in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night after taking my daughter to a concert, check in was simple & easy with very helpful staff who supplied us with maps & instructions on how to get to places. Our room was a compact double room, it was quite small but perfect for us & had everything we needed. The layout of the room is well designed, the bed was very comfortable & spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was plentiful, loads of choice, hot, well stocked & the sausages were lovely. Coffee & tea were served at your table & refilled regularly.
About 5-10 minute walk from Piccadilly station & about 20 mins to the arndale centre.
I would stay here again, my daughter is already planning our next girly weekend!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 433 which is room round the corner from the lift, which you can hear sometimes but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Mandy H

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We do appreciate all the comments which are left from all our guests and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Manchester.

Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Excellent value for money. One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are a little on the compact size but extremely clean. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugsysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Bugsysmum

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your stay experience at Days Hotel Manchester City Centre.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here over the May Bank Holiday Weekend on a Saturday night as we were attending a show at the nearby Palace Theatre. Hotel is less than 10 minute walk from the theatre as well as Manchester Oxford Road and Picadilly Train stations. Check in was straightforward and the staff were efficient and professional. Hotel had a complete refurb last year and all decor, furniture etc we're clean and modern. Reception area was relaxed and inviting and a coffee and snacks bar at the main entrance was a useful addition for a snack and good quality coffee as we had missed lunch. At reception we were asked if we wanted to book into the hotel restaurant for a meal and as it was pouring down outside we decided this would be a preferable option to trudging about outside in the rain trying to get an early meal before our show started.
Previous reviews I have read for this hotel mention the small size of the rooms. It's true they are not exactly massive, but the space available is utilized well and our room was perfectly adequate for two for an overnight stay. The small walk in shower worked extremely well and maintained a constant temperature. It was also very easy to use and didn't require a load of messing about with the controls before it worked.
Only tiny bad point was that our room was rather warm. We arrived on a wet muggy afternoon and the room temperature hit us as soon as we walked in. The desk fan that had been thoughtfully provided without us having to ask went some way to alleviating the closeness of the room and luckily the window opened relatively wide. This was a minor quibble and didn't spoil our stay in any way.
our meal in the Hub, the hotels restaurant, was absolutely fine. As we had booked in early we were the only patrons in there for most of our meal, so we received a very attentive and friendly service from the young man who was waiting on. The meal was well cooked, I opted for steak and my partner had a burger, and there was more than enough to fill us up before we headed to the theatre for pre show drinks.
Although the room was warm we slept well. The pillows on our bed were a little flat, and could've done with sturdier, fluffier ones but again, this didn't spoil our stay and we still slept comfortably. I've read previous reviews about noise and I fully expected banging doors and noise from other guests as well as outside noise from partying students whose halls of residence are next door. Despite the window being open all night, and despite it being a Saturday night on a bank holiday weekend, we didn't hear a thing. I guess it just depends on who else is staying there when you are. Most of our other guests were from the Royal College of Physicians who were having a conference at the hotel, so, if they were letting their hair down, we didn't hear them! I also noticed a hen party leaving the hotel for a night on the town so feared the worst later. Still no noise at any point during the night or early hours. Result!

Breakfast was included in our tariff and I could not fault the experience. Also served in the pleasant Hub restaurant, the hotel operates a convenient buffet style breakfast arrangement. There is plenty to choose from from traditional cooked English to toast, yogurt, cereal, fruit, juice etc. Coffee and tea were practically on tap with multiple waiting on staff frequently offering top ups and asking if everything was ok. All cooked items were perfect, nothing had been left to dry out, and the area was scrupulously clean and tidy. The atmosphere was relaxed and we were in no hurry to dash off. I can see that occasionally the 8.30 am start on a Sunday for breakfast might be a bit late if people have to get off early, but personally as we only live 40 miles away and trains are frequent, it suited us fine as neither of us are great at eating first thing in the morning.
Would I stay here again? Wouldn't hesitate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seldomseenkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear seldomseenkim

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with an online review following your recent stay with us here at the Days Hotel hotel Manchester city.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was not expecting too much from a hotel in this price bracket, but was surprised by the standard of the decor and the food. I paid about £70 with breakfast (a pre-paid offer with no ability to cancel). The reception area was very modern and the single room, whilst compact was well fitted and decorated. I ate in the hotel restaurant and chose from the specials menu. I ordered a fish dish which was very good - both cooked well (not overcooked as many fish dishes can be) and flavoursome. The buffet breakfast was also of a good standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Jan H

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with an online review following your recent stay with us here at the Days Hotel hotel Manchester city.

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the food and the staff friendly and helpful.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great hotel, very friendly staff, great stay highly reccomended, breafast was hearty and well worth it, will stay in this hotel again, we stayed for one night to see Status Quo at the Apollo, the reception staff could not do enough for us,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenscott43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear kenscott43

Thank you for your lovely kind comments, we do have a great location being in the heart of Manchester city centre. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel

Kind Regards
Front of House Manager
Jay Ghannem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#56 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing