We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pendulum Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$117
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$111
$104
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$96
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$153
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$63
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$96
$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street(Manchester)(Great Value!)
$46
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,798)
Filter reviews
1,798 results
Traveler rating
566
674
344
123
91
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
566
674
344
123
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden barmanchester conference centrecompact roomcanal streetconference facilitiesironing boardpalace theatregay villagepiccadilly stationshort stayfull englishfew minutes walkreception staffbreakfast was excellentwould stay againbudget hotelone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,231 - 1,236 of 1,798 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay at. The evening menu when booked in advance doesn't change, daily soup should be entitled "monthly soup". Restaurant was cold, lifeless and staff were unwilling or incapable of dealing with queries. Safe was on the floor, so you had to be a safe cracker to use it, stairs all over - not great for disabled people. Paid £180 for a Saturday night I could go on a 5 star cruise ship for less. Facilities were none existent, away from human contact, not as described, the list is endless ....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your most recent stay with us and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.


I would like to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests. We do strive to deliver excellent customer service at all times which it appears we did not achieve and we hope that you will allow us to redeem our reputation and choose to stay with us again in the future.

If you wish to discuss any of the issues you had during your stay in please email on jalelg@days-mcc.co.uk with a note of your contact details and I will make arrangements to contact you.

Kind regards
Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Difficult to find, Days sign is too small, shower rook was recently updated but
finish was poor, I booked vie laterooms.com, but it seems their system and Days system are missmatched, breakfast booking was not recognised so I was asked to pay for it, Room itself, comfortable bed,clean, but I was woken up at 3am, 330am 4am by noisy guests shouting and talking loud, walls are too thin. Staff on reception were ok but system training required.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with an online review following your recent stay with us here at the Days Hotel hotel Manchester city.

I am concerned to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, the staff are normally extremely helpful with any comments or feedback they receive, I would like to gather some further information about the issues you encountered during your visit, therefore, If you wish to discuss any of the issues you had during your stay in please email on jalelg@days-mcc.co.uk with a note of your contact details and I will make arrangements to contact you.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had a lovely 1 night stay, the reception staff,were very helpful, they let us leave our bags on day of departure while we went on our course, the room was very spacious, clean & well equipped.the location was perfect as only 5mins walk from railway station, our only grumble was the breakfast, they had run out of everything on the hotplate when we arrived and were very slow and long winded filling it up, but all in all a very pleasant trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments with us, i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. However i am sorry to hear that the breakfast was not what you expected. It is very rare that breakfast runs out of food, please accept our apologies for this.

I do hope you will visit us again soon,

Kind Regards

Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

arrived late at night with a very tired toddler. Receptionist struggled to understand english and couldn't identify my room booking. The fire alarm went off (false alarm) and it took about an hour from arrival before getting into our room. The double bed was two singles pushed together which wasn't great as we ended up having to put toddler to sleep between us to settle her given all the disruption earlier.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, i do understand how difficult it can be to travel with a baby late at night and please accept our apologies for the fire alarm going off, it is there for your health and safety.

Kind Regards

Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel has a good location for events in central Manchester. The service was friendly and the room was small but adequate for a one night stay. Our only problem was that around midnight the fire alarm went off, then just as we realised what it was it stopped again, trouble was over the next hour it happened another half dozen times. Apparently students had set it off but it did prevent us getting a good night's sleep. Breakfast as good and better value than most of the chain hotels and unusually for a buffet food was actually hot (although hot plates would have ensured it stayed that way longer)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank GaryW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with an online review following your recent stay with us here at the Days Hotel hotel Manchester city.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know you were satisfied with the service you received as well as our facilities, however I would like to apologies for the noise caused by the fire alarm system during your stay and I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews