We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #44 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Decent accomodation at a decent price - modern, clean and friendly/helpful staff. Parking around the corner also good value. Quickly and efficiently checked in, good size rooms with tea making facilities , nice breakfast offering English and continental ,and very central to all the sights of manchester

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASj1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,220 - 1,226 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed Friday and Saturday 04 and 05 Oct. Thought hotel would be good and central as was going to watch rugby league at Old Trafford. The hotel is 'attached' to a student halls of residence. Noise was unbelievabley loud from 23.00 until about 04.00 both nights - I can normally sleep through anything, however not this. On check out was asked by receptionist if we had enjoyed the stay. When said what had happened responsr was 'oh' - no appology. Be aware you may experience a lot of noise

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiffPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments, firstly i would like to apologise for our receptionist not listening to your comments when checking out of the hotel.

I am currently looking into the noise issue at the hotel, if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Front of house manager
Days Hotel
Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, bed and breakfast, with my wife in a weekend away. Good location, nice rooms (although very small)! No complaints with the breakfast, good choice of hot and cold food. All in all got good value to money as wasn't expensive to book.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments regarding your stay with us,
we really appreciate all feed we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

have stayed at the Days hotel for the first time. Its a good central location for canal st and shopping.
The rooms are modern, clean and functional, we had a kettle, tea, coffee and biscuits available in our room. Wifi was only available down stairs in the bar/reception area but there was access to broadband in the room. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Jalel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us and we are so pleased to hear you had a nice stay.

We do hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

On the one hand, this hotel is pretty average. But, I've rated it VG because of the good value.

I booked last-minute, and was down to a fairly slim choice. But, I got a good rate.

Bad points. In common with many downtown hotels, no linked parking. But, there's a reasonable car park just behind. I found it reasonably easy to find with satnav. It was a little tired and did not have a huge amount of character.

Good points. The super-cheery guy at the coffee stand in reception was a great asset to the hotel. Made you feel welcome. The staff were pretty good. The room was basic, but clean. The cooked breakfast was reasonable, and good value. Not a whole lot to complain about, really, and the cheery hello/goodbye was nice. Amazing the difference good service makes. The location was good. I got a nice quiet room. Not a lot of street or party noise, even though canal street is a stone's throw away.

Would I return? Yes. Would I recommend it? Yes, I think so. Not if you want to impress someone, but for a decent nights' sleep at a decent price, yes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grouchy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back regarding your stay with us. We do hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stopped here on a weekend to see a show & Christmas shopping break, Piccadilly Station close by,5 minutes from the free shuttle bus or 10 minutes if you wanted to walk. Friendly reception throughout our stay, we booked two budget rooms which were small but had everything we needed for the stay. Good breakfast and bar staff. City was a relaxing short walk with plenty of places to visit. Close to University, we travelled by train but safe car parking available next door

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us, we do try to provide the best service to our guests at all times.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We chose this hotel for its easy walking access to the O2 Apollo in Manchester. Is about 20 minutes walk from the hotel.
I think that there had been some reservations going on in the hotel but unfortunately our room wasn't one. A very tired grubby bed throw and some hideous lime green cheap curtains greeted us when we opened the door. There was a nice hole in the wall where once something hung, I think it was a trouser press. The bathroom extractor fan was so loud and the toilet cistern cover was broken. The grouting could have done with a scrub. A chair in the bedroom would have been nice. The tv reception was awful and the sound quality hurt my ears. A new mattress wouldn't go a miss, several springs out of place in our one.

Our room overlooked the entrance to the halls of residence which was quite noisy, although this didn't really bother us as we had just watched Soundgarden which was very loud.

The reception areas and stair wells where all clean and tidy.

The staff in reception were very polite and efficient. Only thing with the staff is they could have made eye contact and smiled a bit more. The breakfast, when the items finally got topped up, was a good start to the day. I didn't like that the breakfast tables where arranged in large numbers and only 2 smaller tables.

I really liked the seating out side with the large umbrellas.

Cheap and cheerfullish.

Room Tip: Ask from a updated room and one that doesn't face on to the halls of residence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments with us.

I am sorry to hear that your room was not what you expected i will be passing your feedback onto the housekeeping manager.

Hope to see you again soon.

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $70 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing