We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #49 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed for one night on thursday 29th November 2012 . Booked it because of the price (£49 through laterooms) as well as what others were saying . Staff were excellent , very helpful , there is no parking at the hotel but there is a multi storey opposite which is £10 for a 24 hr stay . The room was good , clean and fresh , flat screen tv etc , possibly a little on the small side but not a problem for us . We had buffet style , all you can eat , breakfast in the hotel which was good , all the usual choices . It came to £16 for the two of us , which is fine but if you wanted a cheaper one there is a wetherspoons not to far away where you can get the same for about half the price ( not all you can eat buffet though ) . The hotel is a 10 minute walk to Arndale centre etc . Enjoyable stay and would recommend if You are in Manchester for a night or two and looking for a relatively cheap place to stay .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJC0967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you come back and stay with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    611
    323
    117
    81
See reviews for
133
542
155
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great hotel in good location, was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. Only downside was the fire alarm going off at 3am but that cannot be helped sometimes. Friendly staff and only £3 for a pint of Carling in the bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the alarm. We hope to look after you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for 1 Nght while attending Soccer Match, Staff totally unfriendly except for the Lad behing the Bar, Reception staff rude and showed no interest in our custom never even said thanks when we checked out. Hotel Freezing Breakfast Freezing booked a twin room but on arrival told us all they had was a double. overall the reception staff need training in customer service

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback, I am sorry you felt the staff rude. The team strive to ensure that they provide good customer service at all times, I will email you directly to find out when exactly you stayed and speak with the staff on checkout.

A couple of peple have stated that the hotel was cold over the last few days and I would also like to investigate whether anything has caused this specifically, and whether it has happened on the same date.

Thank you again for leaving your feedback, it is imperative we get to hear feedback whether good or bad to ensure that we further improve our service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed 1/12/2012 for 1 night. Check in quick. Reception staff pleasant and helpful. Room 517 absolutely reeked from cigarette smoke. We left the bathroom fan on and went to report this. On return the room had been cleansed of the smell so yes ok. Went to concert, returned and husband peering at TV for Match of the Day in reception, receptionist (Male Irishman?) went without asking and changed TV in bar so we could enjoy TV with a pint and a wine. Circa 11.30 asked for coffee, refused as cleaning machine even though room service is 24 hour. Went up to room, absolutely freezing and TV did not work. Rang reception and same Irish guy came up. Our fault hadn't looked how to put very small electric panel heater on, but still very cold room. TV was dead! Finally the icing on the cake (and not really the Hotels fault) was a fire alarm going off at 4.30am and standing in the freezing cold for 15mins without really being told what was happening. Fortunately it was a false alarm. Not much sleep after that, packed up at 8am for home . Told parking was £2.00 in fact charged £4.00. Sounds trivial maybe. We are a hardworking self employed couple who have odd breaks in budget hotels several times of year and this has to be the worst. With a bit of tweaking it could be quite good. Just one more moan please put a bigger sign saying "Days Hotel" as quite difficult to find, May I also add we are a very easy going couple and have never written a negative review before but feel after this experience we have been short changed for the price we paid £79.00. Sorry

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BillieJean217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, unfortunately this is the same night that I have referred to below, as we encountered the unusual situation of malicious fire alarms. Please accept our apologies for this, our staff did try to deal with this efficiently, however, it was an extrememly unusual situation and one they have not encountered before.
We are a non smoking hotel and guests should not be smoking in their rooms, I am glad our staff delat with it efficiently, however, the smell of smoke should not have been there in the first instance.
The coffee machine does take about half an hour to clean, however, the staff member should not have cleaned it until after closing. The room service is available 24 hours a day on a limited menu and coffee could have been provided from the kitchen but not the full coffee menu such as Latte etc. I will address this with the staff member that was on duty on the night.

I will email you under seperate cover to establish the room that you stayed in as I need to investigate the TV. These are all normally checked prior to arrival as standard.

Please accept my apologies that your stay was inconvenienced. We have emailed all guests directly that stayed on saturday who were inconvenienced by the fire alarm to apologise profusely, as this was of course understandably upsetting for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed in this hotel one night holes in sheet and holes in carpets, people setting fire alarm off at 3.30am and staff not having a clue what to do..
Everywhere in hotel was freezing 2 heaters in bar but could get no heat as lots of doors where open.
Breakfast was horrendous found bones in bacon and was freezing.
All in all I've stayed in better hotel in Blackpool for £25 a night I paid a lot to stay in this hotel and I would not return my experience of this hotel was very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrilee1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for leaving your feedback, I assume that you stayed with us on Saturday night as we had a major issue with the fire alarms being set off 3 times, we believe maliciously. Our staff did try to handle the situation to the best of their ability however, as you can imagine they were extrememly frought as guests had been inconvenienced and it is a most unusual situation to have to deal with. I have emailed all guests affected by this today and offered our profuse apologies.

I will contact you directly to discuss this in more detail as we cannot prevent fire alarms to some extent, howeever your comments about the sheets and breakfast concerened me greatly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The staff are in the premier league for help and advice any and all questions are answerd promply The breakfast is first class and plentiful the room though small had all you need
and was spotless would definitely stay on my next and every subsequent visit to manchester

Room Tip: upgrades are easy to obtain if you wish
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Fantastic comments thank you taking the time to leave them. The team work really hard to ensure that everybody who stayed with us is well looked after, I will pass on your comments to all of them

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

By far the worst hotel we've stayed in for many years - room and bathroom were dirty (bed linen appeared clean at least) - carpet wet on side adjacent to bathroom - street noise very loud - some lights not working in room - all in all we couldn't wait to lease after our one night there - we didn't stay for breakfast....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I am very concerned that you felt the hotel was not clean, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness and consistently receive good feedback about all areas in the hotel. I will email you directly to establish further details to allow me investigate what went wrong on this occassion.
Apologies that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing