We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Train Station and City Centre”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #45 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was looking for a central location to the train station and shopping, couldn't have asked for a better location. Arrived at the hotel and was greeted by friendly staff. My booking confirmation stated a twin room but as i was on my own, got a room with a double bed which was very comfortable. The room had everything i needed including a safe, iron & board and hairdryer. Although it is near the centre, no noise could be heard outside and had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was included in the price but i didn't have any food so i cannot comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie_from_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for leaving us your comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,391 - 1,397 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have stayed here twice now and both times we have found the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms tend to be compact but the cleanliness cannot be faulted. If you are looking for value for money check out this hotel on the various booking sites as substantial savings can be made. Breakfast is second to none and the bar in the conservatory is a pleasant place to relax with a glass or two, get Omar to make you a hot chocolate with Baileys as a night cap and you will sleep like a baby!!!!
Great location for Piccadilly station, Palace Theatre and central Manchester.

Room Tip: Despite being in University District it has been very quite but we have only stayed mid week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Fantastic comments, thank you very much I will pass your feedback on to Omar directly, he will be delighted that he helped to make your stay more enjoyable.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel due to its closeness to the main rail station as I had to nip off quite early to catch a train to London.

The room was quite small for a couple but we managed just fine and the facilities were excellent.

There was a BBQ at the front entrance which we didn't visit as we were off out for the night. Breakfast in the morning. We both went for a cooked breakfast from the buffet, all was hot and fresh.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisWilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Great comments, thank you so much for posting your feedback. We hope to look after you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends in Manchester. We booked through asda, and paid £57 for double room and breakfast.

The hotel is centrally located and was easy to find from Piccadilly station.
The hotel was vibrant, due to it also being a conference centre.
The room was small but clean, and had ample facilities.
The breakfast was delicious. It is self service. Lots of options, ie full English, cereal, toast, or all of it. Staff are attentive but not overbearing.
The only downside I would have to say was that it is right near university halls/the union, and some students were noisy. However, the window was open and this may have increased the annoyance of this.

Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid anywhere facing the university, which might be hard to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophy217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I will raise the noise issue that you encountered with the warden and our night security. They should be attending to noise issues at the time as a matter of urgency.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel was verry clean room was a littel small but nice and warm when we got there at 10pm check in was verry fast no problems will stay there agine it would have been nice to have a bath but a shower was good i think it could do with some music channels on the tv thank you days hotel see you soon

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken note of the comment about a music channel and will review. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here last night after seeing Cheryl Cole at the MCR Arena and having a night out in the gay village afterwards. The room was fab - spotless , nicely decorated and modern. You can tell they take pride in making it look great. I was so pleased at the size of the bathroom as in many hotels bathrooms are so small and have no space but this bathroom was great and the shower was fantastic.

The staff were so friendly and helpful , it's in a great location for Manchester's nightlife. I would definitely stay here again !,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. We do take pride in our cleanliness and standards and enjoy passing feedback such as this on to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

this hotel would be fine if it wasn't was the price! our problem was that we had spent the night before in another hotel for a lot less, in that hotel we expected it to be not all that great but it was fantastic, so when we knew we were going to the days hotel which cost us more, we were highly excited. when we got to our room we were soo disappointed in the size of the room and toilet (lack of proper door on the toilet) no freeview, we called down stairs to reception numerous times and our call was ignored, some of the staff weren't all that that great, breakfast was expensive at £10 considering im a vegetarian and all i could get was coffee and toast/cereal. the rooms just seemed like student dorms, there was no atmosphere about the place. wont be back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura-Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations on this occassion, I am unsure as to why you were not offered the vegetarian menu in the restaurant, I will pass your comments on to the restaurant manager. We do cater for all dietary rquirements.

We do offer a selection of sky channels however, not the full freeview as mentioned.

It's is not often we receive negative feedback, however, and I can assure you that your points will be raised with the relevant departments. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments to us, all feedback both good and bad is helpful in improving our service and standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $64 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing