We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great city hotel for the weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #46 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great city hotel for the weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel was perfect location for everything I needed in Manchester. I went to see a concert at the MEN Arena which took about 20 minutes to walk to from the hotel. The shops are about a 10minute walk so nothing is too far away.

I found the room very clean and well presented. Equipped with all the necessities. The room may be small but this was not a problem at all seeing as most of the time I was out.

The buffet breakfast was perfect and the staffs were very efficient.

I would have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katkin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we look forward to looking after you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    592
    309
    116
    76
See reviews for
129
521
154
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel was A very relaxing place to stay. The reception are was welcoming, clean & all the staff friendly. Nothing was to much. The bedrooms were excellent. The little extras like an ironing board ^ iron in each room was thoughtful. The whole stay was enjoyable. The price was good & the included breakfast was great. Location to Manchester centre was good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobydo3186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The rooms are clean and cosy and there is a desktop available to work. The badroom is clean and nice. The staff was a littlebit unfriendly but helpfull. The hotel is nearby the Picadilly railway station and when you have discovered the right way it's just 2 minutes wa

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwayslook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I have passed your comments about our friendliness on to our front of house manager, it is important to us that our customer service is above expectation. I will ensure that your comments are utilised to improve this aspect.

Overall I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in the nicest suite in the hotel as an kind upgrade, a massive room, flat screen tv and huge bed. we had a whirl pool bat tub and a lovely bath suite. We really enjoyed the huge space. Breakfast was plentiful with cold meats, cheeses, smoked salmon , pastries, hot food, fresh fruit ,cereals and yogurts, you couldn't go hungry and it rivaled Premier inn for selection.

it was also on for hours so you could have a long lie in the morning or you could order a grab and go drink and butty from the char grill and collect on the move for a reasonable price,

We did eat twice during our stay but were disappointed when the club sandwich with no lettuce twice arrived with bits of lettuce that hadn't been picked out and the bbq ribs arrived with only chips, no coleslaw( we found out after here was none) and the portion was disappointing, but we did have the curry which tasted home made and was delicious on another night so the food was either hit or miss which was a shame as every thing else was good.

The bar prices were very reasonable and sky sports were available in the bar so you could watch the football and sup a beer.

The location was great as it is on Sackville st which means 2 of 3 Manchester free buses stop at the top of the street from both railway stations. the buses also go via the Print Works complex, the museums and the Arndale center so are well suited as to location for convenience. The hotel is a place where many companies send their employees on courses but there is definitely room for the city traveler to rest their head at a reasonable price too,

Room Tip: Rooms are designed for business people but there is scope for the Manchester traveler to stay for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaB364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for you lovely comments, we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I paid 40 quid through lastminute.com and knew it was right next to a student halls of residence. Therefore, at this price, I was expecting a glorified halls of residence.

I was pleasantly surprised. The room is fairly small but the decor is easily a couple of notches up in quality compared to the budget hotel chains, same goes for the reception experience and common areas.

The bed was really comfy too and its well located for walking to town/the station.

I'd stay again if I need to stay in central Manchester.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to looking after you again in the near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

stayed at the days hotel manchester last night for the first and last time only booked because it says within walking distance of 02 apollo theater 800 meters in discription [biggest load of bull] it was down quiet street next to university it is in fact a students lodging house offering cheap lodgings via a big banner on front, we were charged £77 for a room for 2 breakfast extra at £10 95 making it £99 for b&b the room was so small, bed in the corner against wall ment my partner a pensioner had to climb over me to get in /out of bed i am semi disabled pensioner so no way could i have slept on that side of bed nothing like rooms it shows on ads the room was booked and paid for in advance otherwise would have walked out, we asked reception staff which way did we walk to apollo and was told it was very long walk and only way was taxi and if picadilly staition is only 300 meters away it must have been over roof tops and no where near shops only plus side was it was clean

Room Tip: dont choose this hotel if your going to apollo or city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaygirlCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I apologise if we did not meet your expectations during your visit with us, some of our city doubles are against one wall, we do have alternative rooms with access both sides of the bed, which we could have moved you and your partner to if the city double was not acceptable subject to availability.

Piccadilly station is a short walk away, however, patrons do need to leave at the taxi exit otherwise you can find yourself on Ducie Street which is the a longer walk to us.

I am unsure which website states that the apollo is only 800 metres away, as, whilst it is close it is definately further than 800 metres. It is a short taxi ride or about a 20 minute walk away.

We are very central here, location is right next door to Oxford road and the Village area, Piccadilly and the Northern Quarter. Of course the City Centre is quite large therefore, you could find yourselves a little way from the part that you individually want to visit.

I note your comments about the banner. This banner refers to the Weston Hall which is a rented accommodation located directly next door to us. We are the next building along.

Thank you again for your comments and I am sorry we did not meet your expectation on this occassion.










,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We held our wedding breakfast and evening reception here and it was just perfect! Joanne, the wedding co-ordinator, and Graham, the master of ceremonies, together with their team, were incredible and worked so hard to ensure every detail was attended to. All our guests commented on the high standards of service and the quality of the food which was superb. The DJ accommodated all our choices and the evening barbecue was a lovely alternative to a standard buffet. And to top it all, the price we paid was beyond reasonable! Also we were really pleasantly surprised at the bar prices which were well below the norm. for a hotel.

Thank you Days Hotel for giving us a day to remember!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for leaving us these fantastic comments. We are delighted to have been a part of your special day and are even more delighted that we helped to make your day so memorable.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#56 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing