We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great comfortable hotel”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #50 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Hull
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“great comfortable hotel”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is less than 5 mins walk from Piccadilly station.
The rooms are on the small side but very comfortable, we had a double room with shower. For the amount of time we spent in the room (apart from sleeping) it is most adequate. Friends had a twin room with bath.
The breakfast was excellent with a range of coffee's, teas, juices. Cereals, continental and cooked breakfast. The staff in the restaurant greeted us with a friendly smile and were extremely helpful without been intrusive.
There are WiFi areas around the hotel, with a quiet lounge with computers for guests to use.
Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, no hassle check in and out and always a thank you.
Just a few minutes walk you are in the heart of the Canal st, lots of bars for a g+-9r+eat night out.
Arndale shopping center is about 10 minute walk, so plenty of shopping opportunities.
We have already planned to stay here again and have recommended the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: some rooms just have showers others have baths, enquirer before booking if you have a preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzahull66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we look forward to looking after you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    606
    322
    117
    80
See reviews for
130
538
155
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Days inn and really enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and spacious. The location of the hotel is right in the centre of Manchester city and so there was plenty of shops and restaurants around. Definitely would recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We look forward to looking after you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hotel is very close to Manchester Piccadilly and so is very convenient for both the station and the city.

The staff are efficient and welcoming.

The room was just adequate being a bit on the small side but it was very clean and the bathroom was well presented. Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels left where required.

There was an additional charge for breakfast and the meal was fine.

This is really more of a student/business hotel, so there are no frills but it suited our needs exactly for a short stay at a conveniently sited hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I do hope you stay with us again very soon.

i
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just got back from this hotel. The staff at the concierge are most unpleassant. We had spent the previous night at the Premier Inn, Deansgate Lock.The staff at the Premier Inn are miles ahead in terms of customer service. At Days Hotel, we booked 2 rooms for 4 adults and 2 children. When we arrived they told us we had only booked 1 room. After a while they came back to say they had made an error and that we had indeed booked 2 rooms. However, no beds for the children and they were unwilling to allocate appropriate rooms, because they claimed they were fully booked. I asked for a cork screw to open a bottle of wine, they told me they did not have one in the entire hotel. When we checked out of the Premier Inn, they asked: 'did you enjoy your stay?' When we checked out of the Days Hotel, the staff were busy chatting amongst themselves. Rooms are small but clean, breakfast is ok. Wouldn't stay here again, unless every other hotel in Manchester is booked up. They could do with a complete overhaul of their staff training programme. Learn to smile at your customers and they will smile back with their wallets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
I am very concerned to read the feedback provided and can assure you that this is not the standard of service we strive to achieve. I apologise that we did not meet expectations on this occassion, and would appreciate some further detail to investigate why the staff failed to deliver on this occassion. I will contact you directly under seperate cover.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here for two nights this last weekend. I chose it because I know the Days Inns/Hotels brand to be trustworthy for excellent clean accommodation - and The Days Hotel, Manchester didn't disappoint. A 'compact' double for single occupancy (probably usually let for students for the nearby colleges) was ideal - bed very new and comfortable, spotlessly clean linen and towels, and excellent bright modern spotless shower en suite. Internet connection direct to my notebook through an ethernet cable provided at the desk...and just a short stroll to the bright lights and bars of Canal Street and surounding clubland. If I had a slight gripe it would be that the rooms are not airconditioned - and on a warm night that could be a little stifling as the rooms are 'compact' - ie small !Cheap car parking in multi storey in the next street - which was a real bonus. A great stay - highly recommended - and will stay there again when in Manchester.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is obviously a converted student accommodation but is reasonably priced and the fixtures are of good quality. The room had tv, coffee and tea and was nice and warm (a prerequisite when staying in winter).

The room was tiny as previously stated as was the bathroom but it was cleaned daily and the hot water was plentiful.

Breakfast was downstairs and plentiful but did not eat there otherwise.

Position near the nightlife and walking distance to shopping and arenas makes it a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tumbuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, the city double rooms are cosy as the original use for the building was as a conference centre, however, we do have larger rooms, which are currently named work zones or classic doubles. If you are visiting us again soon please ask our reservations staff for a larger room, and they will be happy to help.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Helpful personnel at check-in. Room was on the small side. There was a built-in desk area, but once the laptop was set up it was a struggle to find space for papers alongside, along with the kettle tray. Small window looked onto courtyard. Although it was supposed to be non-smoking, I began to receive smoke fumes, and then realised it was because a member of staff was smoking in the courtyard, and the smoke was drifting towards me. Everything worked OK, and the shower room was adequate. Sleep quality was good because of black-out curtains. Ordered room service meal on first evening. It was fish and chips, and tasted OK, but it was the bare plate, with no extras - no salt and pepper, no vinegar or sauces, no glass of water, etc., - which would be supplied in most hotels without having to ask for them. Breakfast buffet was OK, with selection of fresh fruit salad, cooked breakfast, pastries, etc. There was a large, troublesome fly one morning, settling on all the food, but no one seemed to notice it or try to get rid of it. All in all, not a bad experience, but this is a functional stop-over rather than an elegant or luxurious one.

Room Tip: check whether room overlooks street or courtyard, and avoid ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridges012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback, it's always good to receive feedback from guests whether good or bad to further improve our service.

I have forwarded your feedback to the relevant departmnets and have expressed concern that room service was not provided to an acceptable standard on this occassion. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.

I am also concerned about the fact that a staff member was smoking in the courtyard. For the avoidance of doubt, this is not allowed and I will address it directly.

I do hope that you will return to the hotel in the future, to allow us the opportunity to look after you again to the standard that we strive to work to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#57 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing