We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #50 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Good”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here on a recent shopping trip having usually stay the Travelodge on Blackfriar Street, I decided to look elsewhere due to a recent bad stay so searched Hotels and found Days Inn. It had everything that we were looking for. The location is good but not quite city centre as stated but that is fine as it was walkable from the train station and only £5 for a taxi in the evening to the other side of town (needed when wearing large heels!) The staff were nice and welcoming, the hotel was clean and nicely decorated and the room had everything we needed. After the experience at Travelodge for more money it was a nice change. The food and restaurant looked nice but we ate out. I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabre218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for you great comments, we look forward to looking after you again on your next visit.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    611
    323
    117
    81
See reviews for
133
542
155
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I was stay in this hotel for one night.
I asked about quiet room so far from main street. My room had windows for main very busy street, I was try sleep but this was not possible. This room was clean, but didn't look like on the web side.
I never will be recommend this hotel !!! Staff was nice only when call to me with apology's when charge my credit card for near 220 £

Room Tip: Room was on the front hotel - room 318
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kubica2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occassion, we do have rooms overfacing the internal courtyard, however, most are external facing. I don't have a lot of detail to investigate why your requests were not honoured on this occassion, usually special requests are catered for as much as possible. I can only assume on this occassion that we were not able to provide a room due to bookings that were already in situ. If I could ask you to contact me directly, I would be happy to discuss your stay with us in more detail. With regards to your room, 318 is a workzone room, they are larger that the city doubles, however, it is the city double that is pictured on the web site as we have more of them on site than the work zone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

one nights stay in days hotel sackville stree t manchester it was clean , comfortable, excellent staff, good food,value for money when I go to manchester to go shopping that is the only place I will stay

Room Tip: choose a higher floor for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

we went down to manchester for 1 night to see stiff little fingers at the hmv ritz .booked in very quickly ,room very clean but really small.we were only sleeping in there anyway so were not too bothered .food in bar was very good .breakfast was good .only problem was in the bar ,this hotel had a group of about 1o men who were drinking and useing very bad language ,there was 2 children on the next table with the parents .then the next day about 6 sunderland fans who had been down for the game were sitting drinking in the bar and again there was children about but it didnt stop the language .this put a downer on the bar for me .all in all a good hotel but the use of bad language needs to be stopped in the bar when children are around .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fingersSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for letting me know about the bad language that was used in the bar during your visit. I agree this must have been off putting and is not acceptable, our staff are trained to manage these type of situations, however, on this occassion it would appear that we haven't done so. Following your comments, I have re trained the staff on the bar to ensure they are reading these situations better, and dealing with them as they come up. Thank you for leaving us your comments. I do hope it thasn't put you off visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

just got back from a nights stay in the days hotel
well located just off portland street good room very clean very good breakfast included
car park opposite cheap too at £4 for all saturday and sunday

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March. The hotel is ideally located for access to the city centre. It is a 10 minute walk from Piccadily Station and there is ample car parking close by. The standard rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. It can be noisy but then what city centre hotel isn't? The staff are very friendly and do everything they can to make you welcome. The conservatory bar and it's staff are excellent. We would stay again but probably in an executive room which are larger. Perfect hotel for a few nights in the city.

Room Tip: Chose an executive room overlooking the internal quadrangle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I will share them with the team. We look forward to looking after you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I would say this hotel is ideally located if you are visiting Manchester to see a friend/family member who is a student at the uni or you are intending to spend time in the Canal Street area which is about 5 minutes away. If you are visiting for shopping, city centre nightlife or the MEN then although it is only about a 15 minute walk from Piccadilly station, there are similarly priced hotels which would be closer. If you do stay here though expect an average, bland, "budget" hotel and you won't be disappointed. The staff were efficient, the whole hotel appeared clean and tidy and the room was a decent size with a clean bathroom. Positives of the room: there were plenty of plug sockets, a fan and an iron and ironing board. Negatives of the room: stained carpet, water temperature in the shower seemed to change itself at will, quite a dated look over all. Neither outstanding nor terrible, I'd describe our stay here as 'pleasant'.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I would appreciate more information about the room you stayed in, as it concerns me that you encounterd issues with carpet stainage and shower service. The majority of our rooms have been recently refurbished, therefore, more information would assist me to pin point the housekeeping issue. I will message you directly to discus further. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing