We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paying for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

functionally fine but felt that the £99 price tag was expensive but I guess you pay for the convenience. Service slow on arrival after 11pm and the "Maritime" themed room was a picture of a yacht......room tired and needed decoration

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMB567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,846)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,234 - 4,240 of 5,846 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have used this hotel on most of my trips through Manchester - it is very convenient for the airport and also connected to the train station. On my latest trip though I was extremely disappointed to hear loud banging and drilling noises immediately above my room starting before 8.00am on a Bank Holiday Monday. On calling down to reception several times to request that the loud noise be delayed until 9.00am, the response was " there is a schedule of works and nothing can be done to alter that". I voiced my dissatisfaction at checkout and was simply told that I should have been aware from the website that there was a refurbishment program going on. In fact, unless you click on the "more about us" section - where there is one line about an upgrading of the hotel, you can easily go right through the booking process on line without seeing any mention of these major works. If there are likely to be loud interruptions as a result of works, the hotel should make a point of warning people when they book and giving them an option to make an informed choice before confirming.

I understand that hotels have to upgrade but I have never experienced a hotel that simply refused to try and accommodate a reasonable request to stop loud noises for a short period of time. The whole incident was extremely poorly handled, with what felt like a total disregard for any inconvenience that might be caused as a result of the noise.

Room Tip: Ask if you are likely to be disturbed by hammering / drilling before booking.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel and I left feeling very unhappy. We booked a family room which consists of 2 connecting suites and we requested an airport view which we were told wasn't guaranteed.
We checked in and were given rooms on the 7th floor, on our way up in the lift it became apparent that major works are being done to the hotel.
We opened the door to our suite and couldn't believe our eyes!!! A huge amount of scaffolding and a contractors outside access lift directly outside our window completely obscuring any view but apparently this was the only room available for us, it got worse the following morning when the contractors set to work and took pleasure in staring into our room!! A complete invasion of our privacy, I have complained in writing to the chain and I'm waiting for their response.
That said this hotel is the best their is for airport access being directly linked to all 3 terminals but that doesn't mean they can fob customers off with unsuitable rooms and still expect the full room rate to be paid.
This isn't a cheap hotel by any means costing £177 for a family room with breakfast for a one night stay but the price includes access to the gym and pool, but please be advised if you go to use the pool there are no changing rooms. Not very good for the shy ones amongst us.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigRob01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had an early flight from Terminal 2 so we stayed the night before in this hotel,check in was very quick and easy,nice size rooms and very clean,had a few drinks in the bar up on the 9th floor and watched all the aircraft movements.Checked out in the morning and checked in at the checkin desk at the airport within 10 minutes,would definitely use this hotel again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is smart, clean, comfortable and the staff are friendly and efficient. Service in the restaurant was very good. However, bear in mind that there is currently a lot of renovation work taking place (I believe due to finish in autumn 2013) so there is only one area to eat in currently; I believe there used to be an A La Carte restaurant as well as Brasserie.

Room Tip: Only rooms on one side of the hotel overlook the airport runway.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had an early flight from Manchester Airport so decided to stay the night before at the Radisson and take advantage of their park and stay facility.
The hotel is connected to both terminals 1 and 2 and the railway station, once in the hotel there is no real reason to go outside again, the connection is via a glass corridor which even has moving walkways.
We left the car in their own car park, but were advised that they may have to move it to secure parking if they became busy, but promised it would be back in time for our return.
All the rooms are themed; ours was Scandinavian, it was delightfully styled and decorated and very well equipped. Tea and coffee making was available and the bathroom had plenty of towels, soaps and shampoos etc.
At the time of our visit the main restaurant was under restoration, but there was an alternative restaurant available. The bar had been moved to the 9th floor and was in an observation room overlooking the airport and gave great views of the arriving and departing aircraft.
The following morning we dropped our overnight bag in the car and handed our car keys into reception, and within minutes we were in the departure terminal. Very little fuss was involved.
On our return from holiday we were quickly back at the hotel where we found our car keys waiting for us together with a car park pass. We brought the car round to the front of the hotel to the loading area, put in the luggage and in no time we were on the motorway on our way home.
This hotel is not cheap, the bar and restaurant prices can take your breath away, but if you feel like starting your holiday off with a bit of luxury, this hotel can provide it.

Room Tip: We prefer to over look the airport, but don't think there will be much difference in the actual...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackhawk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was the final hotel of our trip to UK and it was superb! The check in was easy; the room was clean, spacious and very comfortable; the staff was very friendly and there was no sign of the renovation work that others have complained about.

Our room was modern, updated and easily on a par with, or better than, any other international airport hotel that we have stayed at. (We are regular, seasoned travellers, so there have been many such hotels throughout the world.)

Despite this hotel being literally at the airport, it is so well sound-proofed that we didn't hear any noise from the planes.

The connecting tunnel made it very convenient for catching our early morning flight without having to take a taxi or worry about the weather. We had several large bags and the hotel staff provided an airport trolley for us to transport the bags to the terminal - very easy and convenient.

We didn't eat at the hotel but spent a pleasant hour in the 9th floor bar in comfortable chairs watching the planes take off and land,

For us, this was a good end to a great trip and we'd recommend that you are not put off by the earlier negative reviews. It is as good as it gets for an airport hotel and better than most!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ganddoutoftown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
7.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#59 of 120 in Manchester
3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport

Address: Chicago Avenue | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#11 Family Hotel in Manchester
#13 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $155 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing