We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #26 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

Stayed one night last week (Sat) as said before location good, easy to get into town, used the valet parking which worked well. Check in speedy staff polite, room (king) spacious if a little worn in places, scuffed furniture few stains on the carpets.

Bathroom was quite grubby, the non slip surface in the bath was really quite stained, nothing a little elbow grease would not shift and hairs under the sink. Towels rather grey and hard and for a hotel of this standard, quite unaccptable.

But where Marriott Hotels always excel in are their beds and the quality of linen and pillows which are truly excellent. If you want one that much you can buy a bed and all that goes with it! shame they cannot do the same with the towels.

Buffet breakfast was ok, eventhough its just fodder I really wish they would not do them and cook food to order (did cook two fried eggs for me though cooked in awful fat) Waiting staff ok.

  • Liked — Fantastic beds and linen
  • Disliked — Grubby bathroom and poor towels
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englandsscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    573
    213
    75
    55
See reviews for
183
735
55
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

Went here when I was on business in Manchester with the Missue and baby. We got a large room and it had lots of charachter with the brick work and wooden beams in this former ship building warehouse.

Very tidy and the bed was massive. Internet access at the usual mental prices of not much change from a twenty.

Don't order from the room service! The food had more salt than the dead sea and it was extremely greasy too.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tallphilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

We stayed in this hotel over the August bank holiday and were impressed as soon as we arrived. We pulled up in our car and the concierge was there to greet us and park our car for us. We checked in quickly and on seeing the room, was very impressed. It was tastefully decorated, very clean and also quaint looking, with wooden beams across the ceiling. We didn't have meals at the hotel or drinks, as we went out instead. Just a quick tip here, we got excited about the minibar and started taking things out to have a look and then read that everything was electronically marked and so on lifting something up, it was automatically charged to the room!! but we went to reception and this was sorted out straight away. Will definately stay here again, as we couldn't fault it!!

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The food/drinks prices
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SarahDerbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

This is probaly the best Hotel i have ever stayed in the rooms are unbelivable.we were looked after from start to finish very friendly staff great location

Mini bar very Expensive $2.50 for a diet coke,Breakfast was great choice, eggs cooked as you like i would never stay in any other Hotel in Manchester plus we saw Blance from corrie in the bar who was a great lady,

The bed was so comfy had a great nights sleep.

  • Liked — Rooms ,Bed
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank antt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

My partner and I stayed here a few weeks ago and found the hotel to be just what we wanted! The concierge park your car for you (at a rate of £12 per night you are there) which was on first impressions a definite luxury, however when we later went back to the car to remove some items we had forgot to take with us, we found that the concierge had failed to lock the car, not exactly what we had expected, so we made sure to keep our eye on the car for the following two days!! The reception staff were extremely polite and willing to help under any circumstances. The room we stayed in was of a superb standard. We booked a double bedded room and got a king size (whether this is standard I do not know, but we were definitely happy customers). Breakfast was good, with a ranging selection of food, although a little expensive if just bought on its own! Think it was about £16. The bar/lounge was relaxing and had some really comfortable seats! Although perhaps not the most atmospheric bar in Manchester!! Shops and bars/restaurants were about a 15min walk away but nothing too major. And the hotel itself is right opposite the Granada Studios, where they film Coronation Street, and we did manage to see one of the actresses from the soap in the actual hotel!!! All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel, it is worth every bit of money and definitely one of the nicest hotel beds I have ever slept in!! Keep up the good work Marriott!!!

  • Liked — The beds!!
  • Disliked — Car Parking facilities
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babyblueduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

I stayed here for one night in early June, along with two business associates.

This is a VERY nice hotel. It is located in a converted mill and appears to be very well run and the staff are both friendly and helpful. My room was very nice - well appointed, well kept and clean, Likewise the bathroom was spotless. I had the opportunity to see the rooms of both my associates - and both had been upgraded - one to a mini suite and the other to a full suite - very, very impressive ! We also took both tea and lunch in the bar, along with drinks in the evening - no complaints. On the flip-side this hotel is not cheap - it comes at a price -but is well worth it !

The hotel is well located (in a good area) for central Manchester - 10 mins walk to Deansgate and the downtown core; and taxi’s are easily available on request. Starbucks, Costa and Nero’s are all located on Deansgate - about 10 mins walk away - and offer a less expensive option for breakfast. Likewise there are many good restaurants and pubs for dinner within easy walking distance.

Overall, I was very impressed (maybe even WOWED) and it represented good value.
Would I stay here again - definitely !
Finally, I would love to be able to stay for a romantic getaway in one of the full Suites !

  • Liked — Great rooms located in a superbly converted mill.
  • Disliked — Breakfast at the hotel can be expensive.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Another_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2007

This is a lovely hotel: the beds are comfortable, the decor is modern, the rooms are spotless, the breakfast is delicious, and the showers are hot and strong. Big rooms for England, too, with a great location...walking distance to Museum of Science and Industry and Oxford shops.

The negative are the hidden charges: 2.49 pounds per minute to use the phone...0.49 pounds per min if you use your calling card. It makes calling very expensive! The other negative is that I booked through Travelocity: I had to miss one night because I became ill and was hospitalized. Travelocity said to call the hotel about a refund, the hotel said to call travelocity. Perhaps if you book directly the hotel is more helpful, but in this case they and Travelocity were equally useless.

  • Liked — lovely beds and rooms
  • Disliked — expense of using phone/internet and rigid booking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields area, and Palace Theatre. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing