We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pad Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,961)
Filter reviews
1,962 results
Traveler rating
902
653
257
89
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
902
653
257
89
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswooden beamsconverted warehousegranada studioslovely hotelcity centrespinning fieldsoriginal featuresupgraded to a suitean upgradecar parkinglovely roomreception staffstayed for one nightbars and restaurantshotel barafternoon teaspinningfields
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,855 - 1,860 of 1,962 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2007

As always I looked up the best of Manchester Hotels when planning my bank holiday weekend trip.

The Marriot reviews were consistently good and seeing that it was No 1 I had no hesitation in booking.

All in all I would say that I have stayed in better hotels in the city to name two I would say the Radisson Edwardian or the Mal Maison are far better in terms of room quality and eating.

One major issue was the length of the walk from the Foyer to the room....A long way.

Nice cosy informal bar area to have a drink...A quality hotel but is it the best?

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank keepthechange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

After reading the reviews of this hotel my girlfriend and I decided to book this hotel, it proved to be a wise choice.

The hotel itself is full of character features, oak beams, exposed brick etc. and when these are added to well trained, polite staff you have a winning formula.

I have also stayed at the New Hilton @ Deansgate a couple of hundred metres from the Marriot which was twice as expensive and half as good. This is definately the best hotel of the two.

For a very good hotel at a reasonable price this is certainly the pick of Manchester!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

We stayed here in April 2007 to attend a concert at the MEN. We were very impressed with the hotel facilities and found the service to be exceptional.

A smiling concierge welcomed us, helped with luggage and then took the car away to park it. Check in was speedy, efficient & friendly. Our room was ready for us when we arrived at 2.30pm.

The room was on the first floor and it was beautifully furnished with a very large bathroom and 2 extremely comfortable double beds.
We chatted with a member of the housekeeping staff who was servicing the room next door and she was absolutely delightful - a real credit to the hotel.

The concierge gave us a map & directions into the city centre and we went for a wander. It took about 12 minutes to walk to the main shopping area around the Arndale Centre.
Later that evening we took a taxi from the hotel to the MEN which was £4 and took 5 mins.

The hotel is located opposite Granada Studios. Lots of celebrities stay there and there are various framed photos of them around the walls.

Later that night we had a drink in the large hotel bar which was quite lively and very pleasant.
Although the hotel was full that night, we didn't hear any noise and had a great night's sleep.

Breakfast the next morning was superb - one of the best hotel breakfasts we have had anywhere.

We thoroughly recommend this hotel and will happily stay there when we return to Manchester.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blondeyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

We were here for a concert at the MEN. The hotel is well unattractive, too far from the center of town, frumpy furniture, but excellent front staff.
At check-in the service was quick and helpful. The room itself was not properly cleaned, used hair wrap in the shower and robes not clean. So, they upgraded us to one of their best junior suites. The furniture was still old looking and the sofa was the kind you just fell into. I was disappointed. The tea/coffee services looked old and burnt on the edges. The turn down service included two chocolates on the bedside and nothing else. I left a note for more coffee, but it was ignored.
As soon as we arrived, the parking attendant wanted to know if we will pay the 12gbp.
Breakfast was very poor. Nice selection but I should have gone elsewhere. The eggs were overcooked and the toast burnt, but shockingly, she still tried to serve them as as is!!
This was the worst Marriot experience we ever had. I see nothing to recommend here, except for it is a comfortable bed.
Oh, no hot water, as well. The hotel was not busy , practically empty. I can't believe this is the best for Manchester!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cj15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

I've stayed at this property a few times now, and it is always dependable and you seem assured of a comfortable stay.

This time I was at first assigned a standard room with one king bed which seemed fairly small and compact ('cramped' might be too strong a word) - although the standard/level of decoration was as high, it felt too tight a fit for a long weekend.

Luckily, as there were two of us (doesn't necessarily mean you're a couple, of course) we went back to reception and said we needed a room with two beds (as they hadn't asked). I'd always been given one of these previously, even when checking-in alone, and knew they are much roomier and have two double beds.

All the rooms are nicely decorated and never seem to be too worn or damaged. Most have exposed brickwork on one wall, maybe an original iron column/supports, and all have exposed wood timber ceilings - reflecting the building's former life as a mill. The in-room safe is plenty big enough for a laptop, there's an ironing board and iron, plus a hospitality tray with kettle, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. Internet access is via i-bahn and at £15 per 24 hours is very steep. 15 minutes internet use in the hotel's business centre is £3.

Check-in is friendly and although a little slow, quite thorough. Not eaten at the hotel, but did use the bar after hours - two vodka, lime and lemonades was £7.60. Check-out time of noon was extended to 1pm without any hassle.

My only criticism is that the corridors are very warm and the room was too without the aircon on full blast - and this was on a damp spring weekend, I'd worry if I was staying in the height of summer.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank paulieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews