We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2008

A pretty decent Marriott - the building is a red-brick warehouse conversion with lots of original design features, e.g. bare beams, pillars and bare bricks on the river-side internal wall of the room.

The furnishing and decor are contemporary but complement the building well, giving it a homely feel. The rooms are spacious and well designed though the old school big-box tv could do with updating - we had room overlooking the river which was a nice touch.

The location is excellent - a short walk from the new Leftfield / Spinningfields development with it's water-front restaurants and bars, and around a 5 / 10 min walk into the town centre. After a hectic day's shopping or a night out, it's so nice to be able to cut-off Deansgate and take the short (and quiet) stroll to the peace of the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent, with unhurried but efficient service. The bar area is reasonably large and comfortable with both the bar and restaurant overlooking the river.

The only letdowns are the front-desk - efficient but uninviting (as an aside, the map we were provided with of manchester was a black and white, fuzzy print out on A4 - shoddy); and room service was slow - 45 mins ave. wait time - and poor quality when it arrived (club sandwich made with chicken roll).

I would return to the V&A - if the management team can address the little niggling issues that I, and previous reviewers have mentioned, then this would easily be a 5/5.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Frampsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2008

I've stayed in Marriotts before and felt that this hotel didn't live up to the expected standards. I felt like the front desk staff didn't want to spend their time serving the clients and were very abrupt in their manner. I was checked in by a Filipino gentleman who was less than helpful, whilst I was checked out by a Polish lady who spoke less than competent English.

The concierge did a good job and recommended a good restaurant.

Room service was slow yet when I mentioned this I was referred to the operations director who didn't seem to care.

They would do well to learn from the staff at the new Hilton who were much more professional on a recent stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedDevil76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

We have stayed at a few Marriotts before and enjoyed all our stays and we know Manchester well so we were'nt going to be surprised by the busy but convenient location and we also didnt expect stunning views but what I didnt expect was to be overlooking some storage containers and piles of rubbish on the old Albion Market TV set.
The family room was very cramped and isolated at the very far end of the hotel, the heating didnt work and with a loose window we thought we were in ice station zebra.
The staff though were very friendly to the usual Marriott high standard and the breakfast was very good, the breakfast area could suffer if there was a major rush on though because of its size, again very small due to the building being a warehouse conversion. Yes it looks the part externally and internally but I would shop around for another hotel next time. We only stayed one night but really expected more.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank Bexat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Having stayed in Manchester City centre before, I have found there is a great selection of hotels.
On this visit however, I wanted some where that had the immediate accessibility of the city, but had the luxury of a country club type hotel. I found the Victoria and Albert to provide me with all this and more. The hotel has a very modern yet cosy feel, which is hard to find in a city where many of the hotels are the obligatory glass and steel structures.
I spent two nights here and was very impressed with the five star service (nothing seemed to be too much trouble, even the general manager took the time to chat to us and see if we were enjoying our stay!). It is in a great location, has very comfortable rooms and a lovely bar area. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but will do next time because the breakfast was fantastic.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in mamchester.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 5starTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

We came to Manchester to see Steve Coogan's stand up show, so we stayed in the Marriott from the 7th-9th November. We were greeted by a very welcoming concierge at our taxi who carried in our bags. We then checked in with no delay and were made feel very welcome by the excellent staff. They were very friendly helpful at all times, booking taxis and recommending places for us to visit. As regards the hotel, it is beautiful. Brickwork and marble give it a very prestigous air, while remaining homely and cosy at the same time. It is also within walking distance of the city centre. The breakfast is also tasty, although we missed it our second day! In conclusion I would recommend the Marriott for everybody, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tooshortda5foot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed at the Marriot for three nights.
Once your in the room you dont think that your in a corporate hotel.
The beds are the best, lots of pillows, nice linens etc. make you sleep perfectly.
The location is also great.
Nothing to complain about the service.
Only thing is, that you have to be aware of the room you are staying in, some might be quite noisy.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Luis7804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Stayed for one night at this hotel whilst attending a conference.

The hotel is situated a 10 minute walk from Deansgate, and is located on the banks of the river. The hotel appears to have been converted, very successfully, from old warehouses.

All of the staff, from check-in to restaurant, were very friendly and efficient. My room was furnished to a high standard and was very well equipped. The public areas were also of a high standard.

Breakfast was buffet service with a wide choice of freshly prepared food and excellent service.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and plan to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,797 reviews
1.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $102 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing