We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, although slightly lacking on facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #26 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, although slightly lacking on facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in the Victoria and Albert for one night in September 2013. The staff were professional throughout and check in was complete in less than two minutes. Arrived early morning before check in but leaving our bags with the concierge was no issue and allowed us to explore Manchester without having to lug our baggage.
This is a converted warehouse and so has lots of character - including low ceilings which means the shower head is at neck height. Beds amazingly comfortable.
Breakfast was good, although no sign of poached egg. Also as a vegetarian it was disappointing to see that veggie sausages were not offered. We did ask our waiter however he just replied that it was all self service.
A hotel pitching itself at this quality really should have a pool and gym in house, avoiding the walk up the road! With so many great restaurants in Manchester we did not even consider dining at the hotel.
Area felt safe, and the free city centre bus (route 2) stops as the museum of science and industry which is a short walk away. Would return if price is right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evilempire13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    573
    213
    75
    55
See reviews for
183
734
55
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Worst hotel I have stayed in Manchester. Had to wait for lunch 45 mins, wine glasses had lipstick on, staff in general very poor, if you want a swim you have to walk down the road. 4 star what a joke.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevenwilkins66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for one night only, very good reception staff made it a swift check in process. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The hotel seems to be converted from and old warehouse or similar and surprisingly for a big hotel chain it has bags of character, wood beams are everywhere and the hotel has been designed sympathetically around them. As with all Marriots it is pricey for food and drinks, but the service was good and we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A converted warehouse that works quite well - blending iron columns and timber beams to good effect, the low ceiling heights contributing to a cosy feel despite its overall size. Good points include the friendly and helpful staff and the overall quality of the room - we stayed in a very generously sized suite.

The lasting impression however was of the poor quality of the food served in the Lounge Restaurant. Again, staff were friendly, albeit the service was slow - our main course took over an hour to come. The crispy duck rolls (to start) were dry, verging on burnt and the meat filling, whilst generous, almost completely tasteless. My wife's crab cakes were similarly dry and over-cooked. We chose the same main course - beef in Guinness with horseradish dumplings accompanied by bacon, leeks and peas. At least that was the description; the reality bore scant resemblance to it. We were served a bowl of beef cubes mixed in with some formless shapes that turned out to be dumplings, the whole coated in a most unappetising brown, sticky, cloying sauce. The beef was over cooked and the dumplings so dry they clung to the roof of the mouth with limpet like ferocity. The bacon on the side was finely chopped and fairly flavoursome but there was nary a pea nor leek in sight - in their place, was some shredded lettuce - a walk on part it was poorly prepared for. Overall a tough, dry, crudely flavoured and utterly uninspiring offering.

We chose ice cream to follow - our thinking being the less intervention by the 'chef' the better.

The lady on the reception desk thanked us profusely for our feedback and made great show of writing it down, but I doubt they'll take the action necessary, which is to fire the 'chef'.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

There are so many mediocre hotels in Manchester that its a real pleasure to find a really good one. No faults whatsoever. Good sized comfortable rooms, choice of dining options, good choice of food, cosy bar and helpful staff. A bit more pricey to stay than average but worth it. The hotel has been converted from a warehouse and has lots of charm. parking directly outside is a bit tight and costs £16, but there's an NCP next door for £8. Both are open air. Good location in one of the quieter parts of the city, near to the business district.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porpentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerroa, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice establishment. Had an old style feel with revealed oak roof beams (a bit of a problem if you're tall (ie 6ft), more than one of our party hit their head on the beams near the bed). The hotel is situated close to the centre of town and right next to the River Irwell. The Breakfast area and Bar sit over the river and provided some pleasant views. Nice spacious rooms with most of the mod cons required for a comfy stay. I stayed with a friend in one of the twin rooms, which had double/queen sized beds - great, and very comfortable too. Some minor issues - the safe was locked, you have to pay for wi-fi, and there was a large wedding our first night. It raged until 3am, at which point members of our party reminded staff there were other people staying at the hotel, and that 3am may be a little early to continue full volume music. The main issue for me was the staff. We were part of a 40+ touring party and have had to remind hotels that they may want to look at hiring additional staff to cater for the bar, breakfast, dinner periods. This was a particular request at this hotel, and one that didnt seem to get through. The staff were run off their feet, and as a result, found it difficult to remember orders or simple requests. It would regularly take 10-15 minutes to get served at the bar, and when we ordered some bar snacks the order was completely stuffed up. In addition, the bar meals were NOT good value for money - small portions and quite obviously some of the ingredients were out of a can or similar. In the end one, one of the meals just didnt come out, and we had to request staff twice to actually repay the guy that had ordered the meal (this took at least 30 minutes). It got to the stage where the staff actually started to become aggressive to the patrons - an absolute no no. One guy in particular was a complete menace. The hotel manager/HR staff really need to have a talk to the more senior staff, and in total, this hotel really needs to have a better look at staff/patron ratios (particularly when you make a point of informing them that additional numbers may be needed beforehand), and employ more responsible floor managers. Hotel 4 stars, but staff brought this review to 3.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms have the revealed oak roof beams. If you're tall, be sure to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Losrobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is lovely with nice outside area for drinks too. The bar is very warm & welcoming & nicely laid out. Our room was an exec room which was large & very comfortable. But the most important part of our short stay was how nice all the staff were, from the valet who immediately took our luggage & parked our car, through the friendly & efficient bar staff & the lovely room service chap who served us wonderful sandwiches at 1am. Thoroughly recommend & looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gem6401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields area, and Palace Theatre. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing