We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves No. 1 Hotel in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Deserves No. 1 Hotel in Manchester”
Reviewed January 30, 2008

We have just returned from an extremely enjoyable stay at the Marriott V&A. The staff are outstanding (especially John, the night porter), service and value excellent. Most other hotels could learn a thing or two from the Marriott V&A. Location was perfect. My only quibble would be that breakfast is a little expensive.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Manchester after being spoiled by the Marriott!!

  • Liked — Professional, friendly staff. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Wheelchair/crutch accessible!
  • Disliked — Having to leave to go home.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAddict5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    579
    213
    76
    55
See reviews for
186
751
56
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

This was the second time we stayed in this hotel and have already booked our next trip in 3 weeks time!
I'd be quite worried about trying any other hotel in Manchester now after loving this one!
The number 3 metrolink bus takes you to Granada TV studies from Picadilly for free. On arrival there was a bit of a queue to check in as the hotel was fully booked that night. We were given a gorgeous room, but sadly it was adjoining with another room who appeared to be occupied with screaming babies!! The staff at reception understood and moved us to another room instantly.
We booked through the wesbsite itself on a Winter Warmer deal which gives you £50 to spend in the hotel. So we had a quick drink in the bar and saw Alan Hansen and Mark Lawrenson (BBC Football Pundits), Alan Shearer and Blanche from Corrie!!
Breakfast is lovely and we were grateful of the late serving til 11am.....athough they had run out of smoked salmon on the Monday morning.
Staff are all lovely and friendly, hotel spotlessly clean and far enough away from the centre to be quiet, but only 10 mins to the shops.
Roll on three weeks!

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Feathered duvet- Allergic!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DICCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

My wife and I booked 4 nights based on previous reviews and found the previous assessments to be spot on. Jan is a quiet time of year and the best rate we could find was through 'Otel' and it proved to be excellent value for our stay in a warm comfortable hotel with plenty of character and quite the friendliest staff we have come across. Without prompting they told us how great the place is and the breakfast supervisor (Julie?) was exceptional. The bar was a comfortable retreat from the deluge outside but when we did sally forth it was nice to be offered an umbrella. For eating out in the evenings we turned left walked 200 yards (if that) and crossed the main road into the Spinningfields business complex and on successive evenings tried Cafe Rouge, Carluccios and Zizzi all of which were our sort of places with friendly people, sensible prices and it has to be said very few other customers as this area has only just opened up. One thing surprises me and that is how ignorant hotels are of Trip Adviser, a couple of times we mentioned the site was our reason for booking and had to explain what it is all about. Anyway for all round excellence and a pleasant change from glass and plasterboard this place cannot be beaten.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InvictaHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
257 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We've stayed here before, great service, convenient location, good rooms, only marred this time by a computer breakdown which made check out long and protracted.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Check in and check out delays
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surreyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed on Saturday 22nd December as we were in Manchester to see 'Take That' at the MEN. We stayed at the hotel once before a couple of years ago so knew more or less what to expect.

We had booked a superior deluxe room, however on arrival none were ready so we were upgraded to a suite! It was a slightly larger room than the room we had booked and in addition to the sofa, coffee table & ottoman had a dining table with 2 chairs. The room was spotlessly clean, plenty of towels & the most comfortable bed.

We decided to make the most of the facilities & ordered a room service late lunch. I have to say the food was very tasty & good quality. A varied selection was available.

The taxi to the MEN cost £5.20 - we were going to walk, but it was had been raining and I didn't want to get wet before the concert! When we got back after the concert we had a couple of drinks in the bar. It was fairly busy but service wasn’t slow. Our rate was a B&B rate and we decided to eat breakfast in our room instead of going to the dining room. We filled out the card on the door and it was delivered between the requested times. A very nice cooked breakfast with croissant & pastries, cereal, fruit juice etc. There was a £2.50 tray cover charge, but we aware of that before we ordered.

All the staff were very friendly & helpful during our stay and the concierge parking was reasonably quick. Another great stay we would most definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Size of rooms & decor of rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for one night as part of our recent trip through the UK. We checked in and were given a very nice room which was close to a suite room in size. I also found the staff at Reception to be helpful and in one case quite attractive (!). Here are our positives and negatives:-

Positives:-
1) Deluxe Room was spacious, modern, clean, well appointed.
2) Breakfast was included and also of a good standard.
3) Reception staff were very helpful.
4) Hotel's public spaces were also modern and nicely designed. It's really a good price for the standard that you receive.

Negatives:-
1) A common feature but parking cost 12 pounds extra for the night.
2) The hotel location is a little bit out of the way - though this is practically nitpicking.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and can offer a strong recommendation.

  • Liked — All of a high standard
  • Disliked — Location a little bit out of the way
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequenttraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera, Spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Just stayed overnight at the V&A. The hotel represents excellent value and is well placed for Manchester shops, sights and restaurants.

I've stayed at many hotels in Manchester, but this represents the best overall deal. Staff were very helpful, the room was great and the breakfast was OK.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
2,397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 116 in Manchester
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing